Miso Ramen

These slightly chilly days have had me feeling like eating something warm, but not too heavy.

So, I settled on making miso ramen. I’ve never had it, but after pouring over a bunch of Japanese food blogs, it sounded like a tasty idea.

It’s not too hard at all. There are a bunch of recipes out there. Some say to make the miso separately, then add in other seasonings, and then add the boiled chilled noodles. I don’t have that many pots to do it all at once, so I settled on a pseudo one-pot miso soup.

I also wanted a little kick to my soup, so I added one teaspoon of Kaeng Par Curry Paste. It comes in large or tiny tins (I get the tiny ones) at the Asian food markets, and holy crap, is it ever spicy. It’s sold as a soup base for coconut noodle soups, but I decided to give it a try. Woah did it ever work! I’m using this baby as a heat condiment from now on. Albany John was really surprised I only used one TEASPOON in about 8 cups of soup. And when he notices it, it’s definitely an impressive kick.

You can add other goodies to your ramen soups, like veggies, meat, etc. I used some shrimp because it was easy. I’d like to do a pork miso ramen at some point in the future though – Either battered and fried, or marinated.

The noodles I used were dried hand pulled noodles (although I am slightly doubtful that they were really hand pulled) shaped and dried into “nests” from the Asian food market. I used 3 of them, and it gave the soup a good noodle: broth ratio. I hate it when there’s tons of broth and 5 measly noodles. They had a good amount of chew to them, and were nice and long. I don’t know why, but I like ramen with the long noodles. I’d definitely use the same package again.

For the miso, you can use any kind. I was going to go with shiro miso (the lightest kind), but evidently we’d eaten it all, so I had to go with a dark miso. I actually really enjoyed it – it added a bit more depth to the flavor than the shiro miso would have.

Miso Ramen:

2-4 garlic cloves, chopped finely or minced
1 shallot, finely diced
1 t olive oil
1t sesame oil
¼ c miso
3 T soy sauce
¼ – ½ C beef stock
6 – 8 C water
1 packet bonito (about 1 C – it’s very light and airy)
6-10” Kombu
Noodles

Cook garlic and shallot in olive and sesame oils.
Add miso, soy sauce and beef stock. Mix well.
Add water, heat thoroughly.
Take a large cup of soup mix out, add bonito and kombu. Let sit around 3 minutes.
Strain kombu-bonito mixture and put into soup.
Heat until it just comes to a boil, then put into a large bowl and set aside.

Boil noodles in pot, until they are almost cooked all the way, but not quite.

Strain, then combine noodles and sauce in same pot and boil/simmer until noodles are fully cooked (around 5 minutes).

3 comments
  1. Anonymous said:

    Sounds excellent!

  2. Anonymous said:

    Thanks for this recipe, Jane! I’ve been looking for an easy miso soup for this time of year.Maybe I missed an explanation, but what’s bonito?

Leave a Reply

