Calzones!

I had a hankering for Calzones the other day. I used a simple recipe for the dough (and it yielded tasty results):

3 C AP Flour

2 1/4 t active dry yeast

1 t salt

1/2 t sugar

1 T olive oil

I like to put all my dry ingredients in a bowl first, mix them well to combine, and then add in the liquid in the center (like a volcano). Mix them well, then start kneading for 8-10 minutes.

I usually don’t knead my doughs on a floured surface – I just keep kneading it in the bowl. This has worked wonderfully for me in that I don’t over-flour the dough and dry it out. It maintains a nice elastic quality, and doesn’t dirty up anything else.

Let it rise in an oiled, covered bowl for about an hour, or until doubled in size. (I use spray oil and cover with saran wrap)

I also halved this recipe – it still made quite a lot.

Once the dough was ready to go, I tore it in half and rolled the dough for two calzones. I probably should have made 4 calzones, because these were behemoth calzones.

I filled Albany John’s calzone with ricotta, mushrooms, pepperoni, and mozzarella.

Mine, I filled with ricotta, fresh garlic, parsely, and mozzarella. Albany John’s was definitely better – yum!



I brushed just a bit of olive oil over the tops of these so they would brown nicely, and plopped them on a cornmeal covered pizza stone, and popped it in my gas oven the highest it would go – around 550 degreed Farenheit. Cook for 10-15 minutes, and then wait while they take forever to cool. Or at least it seemed like forever because we were hungry!

8 comments
  1. That looks delicious! It’s such a great time of year to get back into baking.

  2. ooohhhhh tasty! i have a great Weight Watchers receipe for calzones. the secret is chicken sausage(use Bilinski’s). surgery on monday. I will be able to eat calzones by friday

  3. Boots – Ooh, does this mean we will see more of y’all’s baking?! Sign me up!phairhead – Sweet! I think someone will be in dire need of a big greasy post-op breakfast.

  4. Grace said:

    melted cheese is second only to melted chocolate when it comes to beautiful food. bravo. 🙂

  5. Grace – I’ll take melted cheese any day, but that’s because there’s only so much room left in my arteries 🙂

  6. Mr. Dave said:

    Your calzones actually look really good, every time I make them they end up too bready and usually one of them springs a leek and spews cheese on my pizza stone.

  7. I think I used low fat/moisture ricotta. But the mozzarella? Full fat all the way, baby!

  8. Glenna said:

    OMG, the cheese spilling out pic is THE BEST. Homer Simpson drooling here.

Leave a Reply

