Pupusas


Pupusas are insanely tasty food. They are basically stuffed corn tortillas, and you can fill them with a variety of stuffings.

An easy way to stuff them is to make a ball of masa, poke a hole in it, and push the center out to make the hole bigger. After you put in your filling (about a tablespoon or so), simply pinch the top back up. Masa is a really forgiving dough, and since there’s no gluten in it, you don’t need to worry about overworking it. Work it, girl! *snap, snap, snap*

I used mozzarella cheese in these. The little one in front I patted down by hand, and the one in the back I pressed in the tortilla press. I was a little hesitant about the filling leaking/breaking/coming out using the tortilla press, but nope – no problem at all. Made for much quicker pupusa making.

I just cooked them normally, on a hot pan (medium to med-high heat) on top of the stove. There was a little oil in the pan on the first round, but once that was gone I cooked them dry on the pan. They are slightly less fatty/crispy/greasy and delicious, but still nice and crunchy. Dare I say, healthy?

You can be creative with your fillings. I had some leftover meat from making pork dumplings. Chinese pork wonton dumplings. That filling was some awesome Chino-Latino fusion! Next thing I want to try is like an inside out taco – beans, cheese, onions, who knows what else!

4 comments
  1. JMP said:

    I need to try this. I have a crapload of masa harina in my cupboard.

  2. ooohhhh a whole new taste sensation. never heard of pupusa. two snaps up Albany Jane!

  3. Grace said:

    tortillas are good. tortillas stuffed to the brim with pork deliciousness? well, that’d be hard to beat.

    …and now i have a craving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

