Seitan O Greatness

So I made seitan boiled, which was ok, but I hafta be honest – I haven’t repeated the recipe since I first made it and ended up chucking some of it. And I hate wasting food.

I found Seitan O Greatness online – it’s a baked seitan and just about everyone and their mother has done it, so it’s really easy to google and find it. Here’s my instance of it, just because I think this has even more promise to become something I re-make and I don’t want to forget the recipe. So are ya ready internets?!


Albany Jane’s Version of Seitan O’ Greatness
1.5 C vital wheat gluten
½ C bran (I grabbed a big fistful out of the bag)
1.5 T paprika (I love paprika)
1 t cumin
1/2 t cayenne pepper
dash cinnamon
.75 C water
4 T ketchup
2 T Worcestershire sauce
1.5 T soy sauce
2 T olive oil
3-4 cloves garlic, minced

Mix and combine all the dry goods, then add the liquids. Knead it around for a few minutes, but you don’t need to go crazy or anything.
Form it into a little loaf and wrap it up in a piece of tinfoil like a piece of candy. Bake @ 325 F for 90 minutes, turning it every so often.
Unwrap to cool.


As you can see, once it’s finished, it looks kind of like a Hillshire farms sausage log. I also like to overload my vegan/veggie foods with seasonings otherwise they taste a little bland to me. Since Vital Wheat Gluten is the main ingredient here, if there isn’t enough seasoning it can have a bready-raw flavor.

I think next time I will use white pepper as well to give it a little kick. Oh, and my Worcestershire sauce? It wasn’t the special vegan/veggie kind. I just tend to use whatever’s in my fridge for most recipes. Like I subbed bran in for nutritional yeast since I think nutritional yeast is gross and I don’t buy it. And I didn’t have any tomato paste, so I used the ketchup in our fridge that is going to last until the NEXT millennium since I don’t touch the stuff and Albany John eats it pretty sparingly. So this log isn’t even vegetarian. Ok, I won’t feed it to my sister. Or Ellsbells. But I bet Ellsbells might eat it anyway. But I am quite pleased to know that this is a recipe with lots of wiggle room. Next I would like to make it taste faux-chicken-y, although I’m not sure how I’d tackle that one.

I’m going to test this puppy out tonight in some dumplings to see if they’d lend a nice meaty flavor/texture, and maybe in a picatta type dish. I’m doing my best to resist the call of the deep fryer, but it doesn’t help when EVERYTHING you put in it comes out 10x tastier. My peanut oil budget is going through the roof this year.

4 comments
  1. Sandor said:

    Ya know what would make this truly great???

    If you replaced the bran with toasted oats and the gluten with sheep innards… and then boiled it in a stomach!!!

    BwaaHaaaHaaa!

    Scotland Forever!

    <>Sláinte Mhath!<>

  2. nutrionial yeast sounds blechy! have you been to the vegetarian restaurant in Sch'dy, Moon & River Cafe? my friend matt is a BIG fan of their Seitan Fe sandwich. check it out sometime if yr the neighborhood

  3. Sandor – You know, I’ve never had tha ‘gis, but ever since So I Married An Axe Murderer came out, I’ve always wanted to check it out. Now if only I had a blonde at the counter of a deli with haggis!

    phairhead – yeah, some people think it’s got a nice cheezy flavor, but I think it just smells and tastes like sweaty funkiness. :X

    GvsR – Sweet!

Leave a Reply

