Tahini Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

These Tahini Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies are a mouthful in more ways than one.
I came up with these out of the blue. I have a tendency to bake things when I get stressed out. It’s definitely a different mental state for me food-wise, since I usually prefer rigid recipes and I’m not really a creative type.

But, here they are. I kind of looked up a Peanut Butter Cookie recipe, and then went from there:

Tahini Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies
1.25 C sugar
2 T molasses
1 stick butter
1 egg
½ t vanilla extract
2/3 C Tahini
1/3 C chunky peanut butter
1/2 t baking soda
¾ C oats
¾ c flour

Cream together butter, sugar, and molasses. Add in egg and vanilla extract. Add in Tahini, peanut butter, baking soda, and oats. Combine well. Add in flour.

Bake 8 min @ 350 F.

I baked the first round as is, but part of my out of the blue recipe contained other additives. That’s the bottom left cookie in the picture.

Like sesame seeds (I used raw, but I think toasted would be even better. Next time). Top left cookie in picture.

White chocolate chips. Top right cookie in picture

And both. Bottom right cookie in picture.

The plain ones are nice – not too sweet, but I preferred the ones with white chocolate in them. Albany John voted more oats, and while these were chock full of oats, I think he’s right and they could use a little more, maybe changing things up so the flour is barely a binder. And I’d like to play more with the flour. I just used regular AP flour, but I think some nutty whole grain or maybe rice flour would be good too. It’s a pretty intense cookie, so more toothsome flours could hold up.
I’ve got a hoarde of butter in my fridge, so expect some more sweets to come out of my oven.
6 comments
  1. very creative! I’ve never used tahini to bake before! I think the ones with white chocolate sound great.

  2. So YOU’VE been hoarding all the butter! I wondered why it wasn’t available in any of my local Sweetbays!

    Yes Janie, this is your hello kitty sis in Tampa! I FINALLY made myself a blogger account so I can comment to you.. I haven’t posted anything on my blog yet, I have been very busy. I love reading your blog. It’s like a little window to look through and see you and John.

    When I get a chance I’m going to go back to your posts on Tampa and make some comments.

    Salut!

  3. Grace said:

    i love to find uses for tahini other than hummus. not that hummus is a bad thing, oh no. hummus is a very good thing, and so are these cookies! i particularly like the white chips. 🙂

  4. Anonymous said:

    Thanks for the recipe!I just stumbled on your site. I had to play with the recipe too because that’s what I do. I added another cup of oats (cut flour to 1/2c), cut the sugar to 1 cup and added walnuts. They came out good. A little crumbly, moist and rich on the tahini and just sweet enough. I had to bake them about 10 minutes though – could have been my oven.

Leave a Reply

