Operation: Ambush Mother’s Day

Moments like these I’m glad my mother doesn’t read my blog:

Here’s a brief rundown of what I’m planning to do for mother’s day.

Since my brother and sister-in-law have to work on Sunday, Saturday we’re going to surprise our mother in the wee morning hours with Operation: Ambush Mother’s Day. My sister is already at home from college, so she can ensure our mother is physically at home and make some type of potato dish.
Also, my mom likes these little surprises where we all collude days/weeks ahead of time to surprise her. And all of us “kids” will be there, not piecemeal over the weekend.

Here’s my plan of attack:

We go over around 9-10 am. Actually, Albany John and I rendezvous at my brother’s place and all head over in one car prior to heading to mother’s place. You are less likely to blow your mission if you all arrive at the same time and not staggered. This means getting to the brudda’s place earlier, so, say, 8:45 AM.

Since we are going over early, this means waking up really early as well and pre-preparing some foods to ensure they all get made. The bro and sis-in-law are doing dessert, and we’re doing most of the other stuff. Since it’s brunch, thankfully I don’t need to wake Albany John up and have him cook a chicken (trust me, you want Albany John to cook it).

Bacon = cook last, wrap lightly in paper towels. Possibly re-crisp at mother’s place. I like cooking bacon in the oven because then you don’t have to worry about the splatter and they crisp up better.

Scones = make tonight and freeze before cooking. I’m using the Cook’s Illustrated recipe Papa Amherst always uses. They turn out delicious when he makes them, so hopefully they won’t suck it hard when I make them.

No-Knead Bread = I am on the fence with this one. I can easily prep the night before, but the day-of time requires 15 min and 2 hours resting times, then cooking for an hour. My mom does love it though, so we’ll see. I’ll have to wake up at 5/0530 to make this happen.

Fresh Fruit = this is something I can easily see us forgetting at home, or completely smashing during the ride over. Perhaps an ambrosia salad of some kind?


If I can swing it, I’m going to go to the Good Leaf and get her some tea to try. Maybe the crème brulee flavor, which I am very partial to. Or perhaps the Sweetheart Red Rooibos would be more fitting.
(I walked by that Teavana tea place that just opened in the mall. It smells nice when walking by, but I had an associate flagging me down from their doorway going “TEA! Try some TEA! *pause* IT’S HEALTHY! HEALTHY TEA!” I’m not a fan of the hard sell, so I just kept walking.)

So there is my neurotic plan for Mother’s Day, Day 1. I’m sure it won’t go anything to plan so we’ll see how it works out. Good luck with your own Momma Day plans!!

P.S. If I could take 4-6 people out, I would totally plan on grabbing the Mother’s Day Brunch at the Epicurean, or their Saturday night dinner service.

2 comments
  1. was do manma’s love tea so much?

    i have to split my mother’s day this year. making potato salad w/out mayo and beef tenderloins for my fam

  2. I don’t understand why the Teavana folks feel the need to push the tenuous “functional food” benefits of their products.

    But oven baked bacon and Cook’s Illustrated scones… drool. You’ve got one lucky momma.

Leave a Reply

