Basic Boule (Steam)

I thought you all would like to see what the basic boule from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes A Day looked like when you used steam.

As you can see, it is nice and glossy. I even got those nifty slices in the dough too. That was very easy. I just used my serrated bread knife to cut shallow gashes, and then it poofed up and out, like so, in the oven. Didn’t even deflate the dough. Actually, the dough didn’t rise too much in the 1.6 hours it was resting.

All I did was toss a 1/2 cup of water onto the floor of my oven after putting the bread on the hot stone in the oven. All that steam created a nice and glossy exterior.

Here is a shot with my hand in it, so you can see what bakes up from what I size as a grapefruit size of dough. The dough rose more in the oven than it did while rising before being baked and out of the fridge. This made a nicely sized loaf for two people, so I was quite pleased.


So pleased, that I couldn’t resist slicing into the piping hot bread. I know it’s bad for the bread and will make it dry out more later on, but trust me, there wasn’t any left later on. Mmmm. The crust was both chewy and crisp, and nice and thin. I liked the tighter crumb (tighter than no-knead bread, at any rate) since it meant…


SLATHERINGS!!! A tighter crumb means there is more bread I can slather copious amounts of butter on to. Yummy. Whipped unsalted butter is such slatherlicious love on bread like this.

And red hawaiian sea salt is just over-the-top goodness.

7 comments
  1. over the top goodness. that’s awesome and funny

  2. I thumbed through this book once in Barnes and Noble. Got a question for you Jane – I’m sure most of the time is inactive do other stuff time, but how long does it take to go from “I think I’ll make a loaf now” to enjoying “over the top goodness?”

    How much time do you actually spend on a loaf? Is it really 5 minutes a day?

    OK, that’s really 3 questions.

    Looks good.

  3. Grace said:

    it’s all about the slatherings. that’s a word i’m going to incorporate into my daily vocabulary. 🙂

  4. Looks awesome. And I wouldn’t be able to keep from slicing it immediately, either… but with a 2-person loaf like that, I can’t imagine leftovers are a problem!

  5. seppyk said:

    Found your food blog via a friend. This looks delicious. I’ll definitely have to try that steaming technique the next time I bake bread.

Leave a Reply

