Mustard Glazed Potatoes

I love mustard. I used to not be much of a condiment gal, but boy you should see my fridge doors now! What I haven’t tried is a mustard glaze, and boy have some bloggers been posting tasty looking mustard glazed food.

Steve glazed asparagus that made me drool.

And then I saw braised turnips with mustard sauce from Eat This. O. M. G. They looked absolutely slathered with sauce (win!).

My CSA hasn’t started up yet and I haven’t heard of an estimate for when they expect to start. Because of this, I don’t want to have a lot of veggies on hand in case they call me up and say “VEGGIES OVA HEEEERRREEE”. I am also getting kind of paranoid that there will be absolutely no vegetables, which would be a huge bummer since I was kind of banking on having tons of miscellaneous vegetables to eat since I knew we wouldn’t exactly be flush with cash this summer. But that’s the dice you roll with CSAs, so keep your fingers crossed for me! Actually, one of my friends is going on vacation and letting me pick up her CSA share this week, so I am very eager to try out her share!

I have been eating massive amounts of cabbage and potatoes, though. This is why I like CSAs – because you get a lot of things and essentially have no choice in picking what you get. Left to my own vices I get whatever is cheap so that I can eat a lot of it and not feel badly about spending too much. CSAs are quite the treat.

Ok, right. So I haven’t had a lot of produce at home. Except for my sack o’ potatoes and heads of cabbage. So I made mustard glazed cabbage using the method from Eat This’ braised and glazed turnips


Braised & Glazed Potatoes


1 lb potatoes, cubed
1-2 T olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced (I use the garlic press)
1 C chicken jello (aspic)
½ C water
3-4 T mustard from jar
salt and pepper to taste

Heat up a pan over medium-high heat. Add olive oil and garlic, and then add in potatoes and brown for a few minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add chicken jello, water, and cover. Let cook approx 8 minutes. When potatoes are tender, remove from pan. Keep the juices in the pan.

Add mustard, salt and pepper. Simmer and stir until mixture thickens into a sauce. Pour over potatoes.

You can also use cornstarch and other stocks/broths. I just have lots of chicken jello left over from making XLB, so that’s what I used.

Next time I’m trying out the tin of Coleman’s Mustard I bought. The stuff from the jar wasn’t spicy at all, so the dish could have used more of a mustard-y kick. For the record though – Tasty, tasty recipe.

5 comments
  1. Grace said:

    i'm ca-razy about mustard too (and potatoes, for that matter). i love the name of your creation–i'm a sucker for rhymes (and alliteration, if you'll recall)–and i love that you've introduced me to a new combination of two of my favorites!

  2. Paula said:

    no offense – but you need another CSA- I am on week three of bags and bags of veggies… wed. pickup is rah.dick.u.lus!! My CSA is located in northern Columbia County… so not far from you… and we had HAIL!! why is yours so late?

  3. Darrin said:

    Used mustard the last time I grileld ribs for 4&1/2 hours. Couldn't BELIEVE the depth it added in flavor!!

Leave a Reply

