Homemade Tortilla Chips


Out of all snacky possibilities, crunchy is my favorite. I still had quite a few tortillas left over from making enchiladas last night. One of my favorite ways to use up leftover tortillas is to fry them up and make tortilla chips!


I stacked them all up and sliced them into 6 pieces with a knife. They aren’t huge, but are rather cute mini tortilla triangles, and thicker than store bought tortilla chips as well.


Heat the deep fryer up to around 350-375 F and let them cook for a few minutes. The first minute will be very steamy, as all that water is cooking off and evaporating. Crisp, my crunchy little triangles of corms!

Drain them on a paper towel and salt generously. I love it when some of them puff up, so you bite through a teensy thin layer before getting the crunchy thick layer.


Mmm, golden delicious tortilla chips. These retained heat for quite a while. While I probably could wolf down 7-8 tortillas worth of chips, I stopped about halfway thorough and put them in a baggie.
Since they are thicker than normal, once fried they are very crunchy! Warm, insanely crunchy and salty tortilla chips are a great way to use up some left over tortillas.

5 comments
  1. Robbin818 said:

    I hate to be all “healthy”, but I'm a bit older than you (like a decade!) and trying to shed some pounds. Don't know if you'd be interested, but baking them is awesome too. I spray with Pam and salt rather heavily (kosher), 350 for 5-10 minutes… ta da! Baked chips that will stand up to my homemade salsa, unlike those nasty baked things in stores.

    But honestly – frying tastes SO much better…. *sigh*

  2. Very cool! We've never tried making tortilla chips at home, but those certainly look good… and I'm intriguied by Robbin818's baking recipe, too.

  3. I just have deep fryer envy.

    We went over to a friend's house for dinner. Deep fried french fries out of a cute little filtered fryer.

    I want one, but then Mrs. Fussy would insist I get rid of some other gadget.

    Bread Machine? Kitchen Aid? Ice Cream Maker?

    It's like asking me to give up a child.

  4. next time you could whipup some chilaquiles.

    they look crunchtastic!

Leave a Reply

