Kimchi Jigae

Last night I made kimchi jigae. It’s a Korean soup / stew and a good way to use up leftover (and overly sour) kimchi. I’ve made it before, but here is how I made it last night.

Kimchi Jigae

2 T Sesame Oil
Leftover kimchi, juices reserved

Chopped napa cabbage leaves
1 whole onion thinly sliced
4-5 cloves garlic, lightly minced
1 small head cauliflower
1/3 C Korean Red Pepper flakes

4-5 C water + kimchi juices

2 blocks of drained firm tofu, cubed

Heat a pan on high with sesame oil and cook kimchi for 2-3 minutes.

Add napa cabbage and onions. Cook 3-4 minutes.

Add garlic and cauliflower. Stir and cook 2-3 minutes.

Add in red pepper flakes, stir in, then add liquids. Toss in the tofu cubes.

Once liquid comes to a boil, lower heat to a simmer and cook 10+ minutes.

Eat with rice and toasted nori.
Overall I think it could have used a little more umami flavor – maybe some bonito stock or chicken broth. It was a little watery, but still packed a fiery punch. I was going to do the chicken stock, but Ellsbells was coming over and I didn’t want to completely kill the possibility of her eating it. It was too spicy for her, which is interesting since she’s eaten stuff that I think is too spicy. We both figured that spicy is relative for different ‘hot’ spices. Like for me Korean peppers aren’t too spicy, but Sriracha is just tongue-searingly hot for me, but it’s vice-versa for her.

But it’s ok, we also had corms and rice a-plenty so Ellsbells and her tapeworm Mr. Wiggles were well fed.

9 comments
  1. how spicy is this? the longer it sits in the fridge does the spiciness grow?

  2. wouldn't it be the longer it sits the more sour it becomes?

    because i have a bag sitting in the fridge from… who knows.

  3. phairhead – the spiciness might increase a little, but lili is totally right – it gets way more sour, so the sour>spicy, in a way.

    Lili – I wonder how spicy it is?

  4. The version I make uses chicken broth, and it's delicious. I could see how water would be a bit thin.

    It's not like there is any meat in broth.

    The acid test for vegetarians is what they do about animal rennet in cheese. It has been my experience that most vegetarians operate under a “don't ask, don't tell” motto in that regard.

  5. ellie said:

    @Daniel B

    This veggie has the don't ask, don't tell motto. I try to avoid cheese, but every so often I just crave it. I however avoid any beef or chicken stock as an absolute. Unless my parents sneak it into food.

  6. Daniel – that's it. Next time I go chicken.

    Ellie – OOOHHH. That also makes sense why you buy that imitation cheese stuff, then.

  7. I'm afraid to try it out. I keep picturing I'll see something scary.

    I may have to get someone to inspect it for me!

  8. Anonymous said:

    Hello. And Bye.

  9. Anonymous said:

    So I started reading this blog called korean beacon. Apparently there will be in 2011 a 12 part pbs series on the foodings of korea. Sounds pretty cool to me.

    Albany John

Leave a Reply

