Jewish Deli Presentation

Last night I went to the presentation about Jewish delis at SUNY Albany. The Profussor let me know about it, and it seemed like it was worth a visit, so I told my friend Panda about it and we met up there.

I was late, since I am really bad about navigating SUNY’s campus. But soon I was settled and listening.

It was kind of a general overview of the deli’s role in Jewish culture. I forget whom the guy was that did it (sorry dude), but he had a presentation with pictures he’d show. I can see how it would be a good presentation for people who know nothing about Jewish deli culture to get their feet wet. However, I would have enjoyed knowing a little more about the lives of the deli purveyors – perhaps what their schedules were like and how the hours of the deli being open affected their lives and the lives of their customers. Just a little more detail.
They ended with Curb Your Enthusiasm clips, which I thought were pretty funny. You can’t go wrong with scripted improv! The Q&A after the lecture seemed more like “When I was a kid…” or some such by older folks who wanted to talk, with the occasional actual question from an audience member.

There were also snacks of fruit, coffee, hummus, and pita bread. I ate my tongue into a raw, tingling numbness on fresh pineapple slices. It’s a weird allergy/reaction I have to fresh pineapple, but I love pineapple so I’m not stopping any time soon. The Profussor also shares the same pineapple reaction – yeah allergy twins!

And check it! Here’s The Profussor all decked out in FUSSYlittleBLOG gear!

3 comments
  1. Sandor said:

    Sorry I missed out (stupid Sarbanes Oxley work commitments).

    Robert Siegel from All Things Considered interviewed David Sax, author of Save the Deli, and it sounds like it dovetails with Merwin's presentation.

    To make up for missing it, I treated myself to some great half-sours and a whole smoked whitefish. Mmmmm… crisp and smokey, 'cause who in their right mind eats mushy things?

  2. mmm pineapple. tastes good grilled too 😀

    i had a wicked migraine last night! let's get this move over w/ already! otherwise i would have gone to SUNY

  3. Mmmm. Mushy things.

    Deviled eggs.
    Chopped liver.
    Cuban flan.
    Tres leches.
    Roasted red peppers.
    Oysters Rockefeller.

    I could go on. But I really need to get to Old World Provisions. If I don't make a plan, it's never going to happen.

    Maybe after the TOP.

Leave a Reply

