Chicken Gyros


Margarita and my Bro came over for dinner. Margarita and I had been planning on doing a cooking thing together, and she wanted to do gyros. I really love cooking with the fam and trying out new recipes! Whenever we’re at each other’s houses we’ll usually just stick around the kitchen and watch the other one cook, and end up trying to help out anyway.

Guess what else? Margarita is preggo! G’bye to margaritas for a few months, then!
We’re all excited for them. It looks like they will be moving to Mississippi to be closer to her family (who can help out more) and have better career opportunities. It totally sucks that they are moving, but they think it would be much more difficult to raise a child here in NY. Having a kid really makes you re-prioritize your life.
I get to be both an Aunt and Godmother. I consider myself truly honored that Margarita asked me to be their godmother. Also considering that I would fight tooth and nail to take care of this kiddo should the need arise, this Godmother-ing makes that a whole lot easier. Them having a kid actually makes me realize I need to re-prioritize my own life and start doing more with myself.

Okay, I’m getting all emo on you guys. But suffice it to say, their time here in New York State has an expiration date, and I am trying to spend as much time with them as possible until they leave.

Margarita and I went grocery shopping at Hannaford. Kind of a mistake there, but we could only stop at one place. Chicken breasts were on sale for $1.99/lb (boneless, skinless), which was good even if they were the factory farmed kind. The killer was the price of pita bread. It was like $3.29 for a 6 pack of them. Jeezum crow, that’s freaking expensive for some pita! But it was good pita.

Once we got in, we marinated the chicken boobs in spices, plus red wine vinegar and olive oil. Just enough to make it seem like a cohesive marinade. The seasonings we just added to smell – it smelled really good, and then we made the boys sniff it and drool over it, and then we tucked them in the fridge to marinate. I know you can’t really see the pictures of the chicken itself, but trust me – it came out really well. Super moist and juicy. It made me think “Hmm, maybe I can cook with these factory farmed breasts as long as I marinate the crap out of them,”. This is probably not good from an environmental/hippie/green standpoint, but it is lighter on the wallet. Conundrum.

After letting the chicken marinate, we made tatziki sauce. We hung some plain yogurt to drain. This is much cheaper than buying Greek yogurts, which are thicker. We drained it by lining a sifter with a coffee filter and filling it with yogurt. We actually did this part before we started with the chicken breasts so it would have time to drain. About 20-30 minutes and then you have thick yogurt! It’s not exactly the same, but for recipes like this, I think it works just fine. And it’s much cheaper.

Then we let the tatziki sauce sit covered in the fridge while we turned on the broiler to cook the chicken. I didn’t make any pink chicken this time. Woo hoo! I really like the broiler. I’m getting pretty good at cooking chicken. We let the breasts rest for a bit after cooking them, and then we sliced them into strips to assemble our own little chicken gyros. Margarita is used to broilers being electric inside an oven, and I’m used to it being the thing on the very bottom. I remember when I first moved to TN, I was like “Why are you putting pans in here?! They’re going to melt as soon as you turn the oven on!”, and when she came here, she was like “Why are you putting food in the bottom of the oven drawer?”.

We also boiled some orzo and just ate it with butter or tatziki sauce. I made Albany John drag his butt away from video games with my Bro to make a salad. He did all the green stuff you see above, and it was delicious.

The tatziki was the highlight of the night! It was super yummy, thick, and creamy. I could just eat this stuff on pita bread. Or on anything else. We had a lot of leftovers.

Mediterranean Chicken Breasts
8 Chicken Breasts
½ head of garlic, minced
½ T black pepper
1 T oregano
1 T marjoram
1 T thyme
juice of ½ lemon
½ – ¾ C red wine vinegar
½ C olive oil

Put them all in baggies and shake it up to combine. Let it all sit and marinate in a refrigerator for 1 hour. All the measurements are more a guess – just combine them so it all smells irresistible to you. Don’t forget the lemon – it’s key.

Broil to cook.

Tatziki Sauce
1.5 C plain yogurt, hung to drain
1 whole cucumber, peeled, seeded, and shredded/minced
juice of ½ lemon
2-3 cloved minced garlic or a few shakes of garlic seasoning (I have this blend called GarlicGarlic! that worked wonderfully)
1 t salt

Mix all, let sit to combine 30+ minutes.

4 comments
  1. Grace said:

    this meal is one of my top 5, most definitely.
    also, phairhead's comment made me chuckle. 🙂

  2. llcwine said:

    OMG, I'm hungry for that right now.

  3. p – tee hee. Sounds like a halloween costume to me! The Gyro Hero!

    Grace – I had a feeling you'd like this one. What with all the wrappery you've been getting in to.

    llcwine – make it!

Leave a Reply

