Feta Pupusas


My artsy designer friend was clearing out his pantry and gave me some masa harina from the co-op. It is a finer grain than the masa harinas I get at Aldi and Save-A-Lot. I made some tortillas and pupusas, which are like tortillas, only stuffed with things.


Basically, you make a small bowl of masa harina in your hand, pack it with feta (or whatever else you want to fill it with), then cover it with more masa and pat it out or put it in a tortilla press.

The feta was firm, so I thought it could handle the tortilla press.


Plop it in a lightly greased pan


Flip, then eat it. It’s nice and crispy, but it stays crisp for a while. The feta didn’t melt either – it went really well. Salty and tangy, it added a lot of flavor for the little bit that was in each pupusa.


Here’s Albany John’s plate. He wanted his eggs over easy, and I opted for scrambled (top pic). I served the eggs over some regular corn tortillas, and then just mixed up some random veggies in the fridge with canned tomatoes and spicy seasonings.

The veggies were okay – daikon isn’t too bad to use.

3 comments
  1. grace said:

    ah, but what a rave review–“The veggies were okay – daikon isn't too bad to use.” i can just feel your excitement. šŸ™‚ the pupusas sound great, although i'd personally prefer a different cheese. i like meltage!

  2. haha, I know, right? For some reason daikon just isn't that exciting to me. One of these days…

    I like the melt too, but this was a nice change of pace. Ok, and super salty. Salt = instant win in my book.

  3. Jennifer said:

    So funny, I am working on a Pupusa post, I just made them the other night. I've been obsessed with them since I tried them in Brooklyn at the DUMBO flea market. Then I had some authentic ones in (believe it or not) Maine. They are so yummy. There's so neat videos on line that show people making them. I don't have a tortilla press so I did mine by hand. Messy but fun!

Leave a Reply

