Gluten-Free, Vegan brownies

I like experimenting with my food sometimes. I tend to be a creature of habit, but every once in a while I’ll get something in my head I just can’t shake out.

Brownies are something I’m so-so on. I’m not a big chocolate fan, but I really like fudgy brownies. Weird, right?

Well, the other day I decided to try making some fat-free brownies by substituting applesauce for the oil. And I also figured I’d use up some of the [TONS] of rice flour in my pantry by making it gluten-free.

It was… eeeeeee eerrrrr…. Um, well. It was something. Fat-free, gluten-free, vegan brownies. Nothing particularly good, but it sated my sweet craving.

It really reminded me of those crappy chocolate covered marshmallow Easter candies. Kind of. The texture was really gummy and squishy. Really monotonous. The edges crisped up nicely, but wow. It’s a dense, fudgy, gummy brownie for sure. Next time I’d only do 1/3rd of a cup of sweet potato starch at most.

I tossed in half of a chopped up dark chocolate bar in as well, which helped change up the boring texture.
Marshmallow-y Brownies

2/3 C Sweet Potato Starch
1 1/3 C rice flour
1/2 t baking powder
3/4 C cocoa powder
1/2 t salt
1 C sugar
1 C applesauce
1 C water
1 T vanilla
Mix all of the dry goods together, then add in liquids. Stir until combined.

Pour into a greased & floured 9 x 13 pan and bake at 350 F for 25 minutes. The top will be glossy.
4 comments
  1. grace said:

    i won't lie–this sounds a little frightening. however, i guess it'd do in a chocolate-starved pinch. 🙂

  2. I'm not a fan of chocolate either but do enjoy brownies if they're gooey. Those look interesting, I don't know that I'd try it, but you never know!

  3. oh, you ladies are so sweet to humor me. These were “notsomuch” brownies. lol!

  4. Nan said:

    Try lekvar, prune puree, instead of the applesauce. You can find it in the baking section of supermarkets, in a can with the brand name of Solo. Or, you can find it in jars in some Kosher sections or import food stores. It's much closer to using fat in recipes. Also, try gourmet cocoa powders- I prefer not Dutched. And I'd use at least one cup. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

