White Velvet Cupcakes

I’m not really on the cupcake fetish wagon, but I’m no cupcake hater, either. They’re really easy to whip up a small batch. You know, a dozen.

I made these kind-of White Velvet cupcakes, and I’m really happy with how they turned out. They were very soft and tender, with a fluffy crumb. When I mixed everything up, it smelled nostalgically like a Pillsbury mix (my de facto baking mix as a kid). Only the end result tasted *way* better – not processed and full of preservatives (well, besides sugar).

I just used a basic buttercream icing recipe. Powdered sugar, butter, dash of moo juice, some vanilla extract. I don’t know why it looks chunky and gritty. It was really smooth. And I don’t know about you, but that was a conservative amount of icing. Yummmm. Just call me the icing monster.

I also made a sugar syrup for the cupcakes – just boiled down some water and sugar, let it cool, and then mixed in a toffee flavored extract. Totally good stuff that kept the cupcakes moist for days.
The little munchkin above had a wide pair of eyes when I walked over with a cupcake, and went at it icing-first. A baby after my own heart. Or stomach. You know, maybe kids aren’t so bad after all. From what I hear it sounds like a fairly steady diet of cookies, fruit cups, and juice boxes.

White Velvet Cupcakes

1.5 sticks butter
3/4 c white sugar
1/2 t baking soda
1 t vanilla
1/2 c milk
1/2 t lemon juice
1/2 t white vinegar
1 c cake flour (definitely use cake flour over AP flour – you’ll get a softer cake)
1 egg
dash salt

Cream together butter and sugar, add whole egg and mix well.

Add vanilla, baking soda, lemon juice, 1/2 of the milk (1/4 C) and 1/2 c flour. Mix.

Add remaining flour and milk, mix lightly until just combined.

Bake 325 F for about 20 minutes.

Makes 12 cupcakes
1 comment
  1. grace said:

    white velvet! excellent! no icky food coloring needed. i can't help but think of george costanza when velvet comes up–i, too, would drape myself in it if it were socially acceptable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

