Jerk Off

Albany John’s been after me to finally post something about Badass Burrito’s First Annual Jerk Off.

He took some awesome shots, and after SAYING they loaded (and taking 30 minutes to load 5 high-res pics), it only really wanted to show two of them. So, apologies there; you’ll have to deal with some of my crappier res pictures.

So Friday, March 5th was Badass’ first ever Jerk Off. It was hot, spicy, and I got a little bit of everyone’s jerk in my mouth. You know that’s how I roll.

I rolled up a little late after heading over from First Friday in Albany, but there were three contenders and a fairly packed house.

Fire good!

Two of the contestants. I’ll cut to the chase, the winner was one of the owners – the guy on the right. He some hands down awesome jerk he said he got from a little old Jamaican lady back in the day. There was heat, spice, char to the chicken – my favorite of the three samples hands down. Please, please put it on the menu. It would be bad ass.


They had margaritas for $5, so I had one or two. They were pink margaritas with maraschino cherries in them. First time I’ve had a pink margarita, especially one with a maraschino cherry, but it tasted just the same as any other margarita I’ve had, so it was all good with me.

Finally – one of Albany John’s pictures that Blogger let me upload. LOOK AT THAT JERK CHICKEN!!

There was a crowd tasting of the jerk chicken, and I didn’t take any pictures because it would be like taking pictures of a feeding frenzy, where I was one of the main participants. And I swear, I am not going to miss out on three samples of jerk chicken. Oh, heeellllll naw! Especially not when they’re this good!

Another of Albany John’s group shots where they announced the winners. They had the bartenders taste first, before the crowd did, to announce who won.

Two of the nice bartenders chiquitas and the three jerk off contestants. From L-R, 2nd place, 3rd place, 1st place.

This was really fun – the mister and I ended up talking to a decent amount of people in the bar. Everyone was in a good mood and looking forward to some jerk.

If you live in the area, Badass Burrito is a chill bar/food place to go hang for a bit. I’m definitely a fan of their drinks ($1.50 PBRs all the time), and I’ll give a few more of their menu items a whirl. It’s worth a trip if you’re not a North Troy local – the people are really friendly (both staff and customers). I almost always end up talking to a bunch of people when I’m there – it’s super casual and relaxed in a good way.

BTW – I’m psyched for the opening of The Judges Inn where the Golden Fox used to be. The same folks who own Badass are opening it up, and the tag line “You can’t leave until you pass the bar” is just too awesome.

4 comments
  1. I'm kicking my own badass for missing the Jerk Off!
    The margaritas are AWESOME!!!! Definitely worth the trip to The 'Burg

  2. Anonymous said:

    Amiable fill someone in on and this mail helped me alot in my college assignement. Thanks you seeking your information.

  3. You should post about things like this BEFORE they happen. I live in troy and would love to go to things like this.

    BTW, I have been following your blog awhile. I am glad there are other food lovers in the area. I have gone to many a restraunts on your word.

  4. P – they're pink, so for me it makes them even more awesome. Lol.

    Anon – I want to go to your college.

    b^3 – I know, right? I always seem to do stuff afterward. Badass is also on facebook, which is how I found out about the events – they're vocal, but not spam-annoyingly.

Leave a Reply

