Marissa’s

I grabbed a quick cheese slice at Marissa’s the other day. I’ve been meaning to get over there for a slice or two, and finally managed to do it today.

You see, I’ve been getting over a particularly terribly stomach bug. Albany John got it first, and then I got it a few days later. And had I know I was going to get it, I’d never have eaten kim chee the night before. Trust me – no fun.

So I’ve been not-so-much with food and hydration this past week (if anyone has an extra saline bag I’d be much obliged), but my stomach’s been on the up-and-up lately, so I thought one slice of cheesy bread would be do-able.

Unfortch I got the end-of-the-pie slice. It was okay, but I know they can do better. That said, it was still a great little slice of pizza, and for $2.16, quite the tasty snack.

Melissa’s pizza has a thin crust – no, crazy-thin crust. Seriously. Super thin, crisp, and crunchy. And yet the outer crust is crisp on the outside that’s more like a shell, breaking way to a pillowy soft interior. And this was on an old slice. Woah! Lemme just make myself clear – the thin, crisp crust is the real stand-out here. I think I’m going to have to grab a pie to bring home for Albany John. I think he’d really like this crust, and he’s a notorious crust hater.

The cheese ratio was pretty good. I think it could have done with a smidge more cheese, but overall really good stuff. The sauce is a little on the sweet side for me, but the overall bread-cheese-sauce combo is a winner since the cheese and crust are salty.

I probably could have asked for it to get heated up a little longer, but didn’t think it really mattered since it was going to take me at least a solid 30 or more minutes to work my way through one slice. I mean, it’s gonna get cold. Darn you, stomach bug!

The service couldn’t have been any more pleasant. I was only in there for three minutes, tops, but the guy at the counter kept honey-ing and dear-ing me in the sweetest way possible. I felt like I was in someone’s home.

There’s space at the front you can park yourself for quick eats, some picnic tables in the front outside, and more seating in the back. It’s pretty narrow when you walk in, but it’s a cozy little spot in a strip mall.

5 comments
  1. Tony said:

    The have an individual pie with broccoli rapini and kalamata olives that is outstanding.

  2. DelSo said:

    Where is this Marissa's of which you speak? Am I that far out of the loop? *sigh*

  3. Tony – Oooh, olives!

    DelSo – Oh, duh! It's in G'land: 5 New Karner Rd, Guilderland, NY. If you're coming from Albany on Western (Rt 20), take a Right on to 155.

  4. Leah said:

    Is it next door to impressions and the post office? If it's the one I'm thinking of, the previous owner used to have a great ice cream counter in the eating area. Is there any sign of it?

Leave a Reply

