Pot Giveaway!

I think the best way to start the week off is with a giveaway!

The lovely people at CNS Stores, who sell just about everything under the sun (like barstools), sent me this Calphalon 3 quart ceramic pot to try myself, and give to you guys!

I got it on Saturday after a doughnut tasting (more on that later). I love getting packages in the mail!

I tore that baby open and washed it out, eager to try it out. Ya see, I have a big pot that I used for soups, tomato sauces, and boiling pasta, but I didn’t have anything smaller. I was SO EXCITED to get this one. I just imagined all of the soups and stews I’d make with this bad boy.

I bought some oxtails and red wine ahead of time to make oxtail stew.

Isn’t it beautiful? Red’s also my favorite color, too!

Unfortunately, I’m also a moron who got over-excited. You know what you’re not supposed to do with ceramics?

Put it on direct heat.

And you know what I did with this kick-ass pot?

I put it on direct heat.

After I read all of the packaging.

I am an idiot.

*CRACK* I completely killed a new piece of cookware.

But I know you aren’t an idiot like me. You guys are smart. I know you guys are going to just put it directly in the oven or microwave, or NOT ON TOP OF THE STOVE. If you’d like to win one, type out a comment that says “I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat”, and I’ll pick one of them.

This contest will be up until Friday, April 23rd at 10 A.M. So spread the word, win something cool, and don’t wreck it like me.

**Update** I have no idea what time blogger will say it is, but as of 4/23 it is now about 10 am. Comments are closed. Time to pick!

43 comments
  1. oh no! what a bummer. 😦 Yeah, you need to use a cast iron pan on the stovetop. I need one of those. But, if I win this one, I promise not to put it on direct heat.

  2. robbin818 said:

    I will NOT put ceramic on direct heat!!! And I have *always* wanted one of these babies! They're good for everything – just think of the amazing slow braised yummy things I could make! I'm salivating just thinking of it! Thanks!

  3. Nicole said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    I won't!

    And I will cook things for YOU in my new pot! And bring them over. With chocolate.

  4. llcwine said:

    I will not put ceramic on direct heat!!! But I have done plenty of other blunders in the kitchen, poured hot bacon grease into a jar, which cracked and grease seeped out all over the place, scorched many a pot holder, a pan..etc. Oh, and I also now know why you should always have extremely sharp knives, so if you do have a mishap, it's a very clean cut and not a wedge out of a thumb. Hope I win and thanks.

  5. I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat! I would take very very good care of it.

  6. Bev said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat, either. I've already done that and learned my lesson the hard way!

  7. Slacker said:

    Haha!

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    That being said, do I win some yummy oxtail with said cookware? Or do I have to do that myself?

  8. Definitely something I would do.

    HOWEVER…

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat. I'll plaster it everywhere if need be.

    That pot is the key to bread success for me.

  9. Fuyuka said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    … I think I have done this once in the past….

  10. Chrystal said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    That's really too bad about your pot, I promise to not do that with mine though!

  11. I will not put ceramic cookware over direct heat.

    I too learned this the hard way w/ a Pyrex bowl. There was shards of blue glass EVERYWHERE

  12. Ewan said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    Which is more than I have managed thus far… OK, not actually even cookware but a dinner plate. Forgot that burner was still on low… a few minutes later, CRACK and melted carpet. Oops.

  13. I will NOT put ceramic cookware on direct heat!!
    I've been wishing for something like this for a long time. But as a poor college student, I haven't exactly gotten one yet. Definitely wouldn't wreck it!!

  14. I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat

    who doesnt like giving things to random strangers on the internet.

  15. Alison said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat… although if you hadn't told me that I probably would have.

  16. Mary said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    Since I'll be getting a brand new oven soon, the ceramic pot would have a happy, new home.

  17. Ouch, that sucks.
    Maybe the lovely people at csn can send you another one.
    Besides, how do you get so lucky to have companies send you cookware? Lord knows that I have enough kitchen supplies, but if I win this one I promise not to put it on direct heat.

  18. Sharon said:

    “I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat”

    I would really love one of these I love making a short rib dish that I am supposed to make in the oven, but I had to do it on the stove top because I didn't have one of these wonderful pieces!

  19. DelSo said:

    I am a fan of pot. I mean pots. No crack for me.

  20. Jillya said:

    “I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat”
    I will however fill it with delicious things and invite you over to share them!

  21. Zach said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat. Instead I will use it to make chili and take over the world.

  22. I will not put the ceramic cookware on direct heat. But I will definitely put some good things inside it!

  23. Sarah J said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat. Cross my heart.

  24. Beth said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat!

  25. I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    Turns out China is no good on direct heat either. I once broke a few of my mother's nicer plates on a burner. I put them on the stove on top of an electric burner. They fit perfectly. I didn't mean to turn that burner on, but I did accidentally. Then I heard a pop. I had no idea where it came from. While I was trying to figure out what popped, there was another pop. Then I realized what I had done. My mother was very understanding. Whew.

  26. Shaun said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

  27. Erin said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    But I'll make some effin delicious mac & cheese with it.

  28. That is one beautiful pot! It's a good thing “I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat”!!

    Thank you for the chance to win it, and I am so sorry about your misfortune. 😦

  29. naazia said:

    i will not put ceramic on direct heat! lesson learned, thank you!

    husainn (at) mail.amc.edu

  30. 4urface said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat! haha thats something i would definitely do man.

  31. Chelle said:

    Hahaha!! That stinks. But I could totally use one of those, so, although I'm late to the party, I promise I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat!

  32. This pot is so beautiful that I couldn't possibly put it on direct heat! In fact, I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat! Cross my heart!

  33. Shelby said:

    Repeat after you..

    ” I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.. I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.. I WILL NOT PUT CERAMIC COOKWARE ON DIRECT HEAT.”

    Perhaps I will learn my lesson one of these times!

  34. Carrie said:

    I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat! I did the same with a dish that belonged to my late grandmother. I cried so much that this lesson is seared into my head.

  35. x said:

    I will NOT put ceramic on direct heat!!!

    Thank you for keeping me up to speed on Albany eats – we miss NY!!!

  36. i will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    the first time i use glass cook wear i took the food out and but it right in the sink and put cool water and it broke in to half i feel so bad because it was not my pan. i never had a ceramic cookware but im happy to know i should never put it in direct heat. thanks for the tip love ur blog and thanks for the the giveaway

  37. grace said:

    tragic. i've made my fair share of kitchen blunders, but i vow to never put ceramic on direct heat. 🙂

  38. I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat.

    Actually, if I win, I don't think I will expose my ceramic cookware to any heat.

    My choice would be to re-gift it so someone very deserving who recently had a cookware tragedy involving a ceramic pot and direct heat, and who I also know will never do it again.

    But that's just the kind of jerk I am.

  39. I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat!

    Soo sad 😦 That is totally something I would do.

  40. alissa said:

    Ouch! That really stinks. Promise not to do the same thing…

  41. I will not put ceramic cookware on direct heat – because My mother will be using it. I'll give it to her for Mother's Day – she's always wanted one. Thanks

Leave a Reply

