Almond Joy Nutella Cake

I wanted to make a loaf cake/quick bread the other night, but as it would turn out, I don’t have any bread loaf pans. Um, whoops.

I remember breaking one, and I’ve been making free-form loaves of bread lately, so I guess it hadn’t really clicked. Crazy stuff. Luckily I found a bundt pant and doubled the baking soda called for to poof it up a little more. I think it turned out pretty well. No ill effects or anything.

It’s not too coconut-y, but I really don’t think something can ever contain too much coconut.

If you like nutella or other chocolate hazelnut combos, you’ll probably like this cake. I should have saved some for my landlady. She loves cake.


I just did an easy glaze once it cooled off and mixed in some toasted almonds and coconut. You probably don’t want to serve this as a breakfast quick bread. With the icing it fell into Dessert Land pretty quickly (marshmallow pillows). Oh, and I put chocolate syrup over it before the icing.

Almond Joy Nutella Cake
Wet

1 C milk
1 whole egg

1 t vanilla extract

1 t toffee/butterscotch extract

3 T chocolate syrup

1/2 C nutella

Dry
3/4 C brown sugar

3 C flour

2 T baking soda

1/4 C cocoa powder

1 C coconut flakes, toasted

Mix together all of the wet ingredients, then add in the dry ingredients.

Bake at 350 F for 50-55 minutes.

Bundt Cake Glaze / Icing

¼ C melted butter
2 C powdered sugar
2 T milk

½ t vanilla extract

Mix them all together. TA DA. You are done.

I added in some extra toasted almonds and coconut.

5 comments
  1. derry X said:

    I can't even begin to describe my reaction to this recipe…AWESOME!!!

  2. E. said:

    My two very favorite sweet treats combined in one recipe name! I will most definitely need to try this. P.S. – if this was your glaze/no glaze conundrum, I'm glad you went with glaze! Might as well go whole hog.

  3. Oh. My. Golly. Could there be any more things right w/ this receipe???!!! Genius!

  4. cw said:

    wow- cant form any other words…must have it….:)

  5. grace said:

    marvelous. this trumps my almond joy cake because a)you actually used almonds (and extra!) and b)nutella is present. excellent cake!

Leave a Reply

