Ribs

Made a rib rub for porky ribs. Just whatever I had, ya know? Dash of this and that that all smelled good (bonus points for ability to induce sneezing, too).

I let the dry rub sit with a dash or two of liquid smoke for a day or something like that, then popped it in the indoor smoker for a dry smoke. Low & slow, all that good stuff.


After a few hours it was ready. Pretty moist for a dry smoke. Eh. I wasn’t a fan. It was a little too pungently porky for me. I think a sear over some charcoal would have been better to dry them out a bit. The liquid smoke was okay, but didn’t really go with the chips I used. Oh well. At least it wasn’t terrible.

Pinkosity! At least they looked smokey and good. I think the stove top Nordicware smoker tends to cook things quicker than I’d like. Smokey meat is great in 2-3 hours, but that is not much time to truly infuse meat with smoke.
I think I am going to try to experiment with leaving the smoker on super-duper low heat for extended periods of time, or just turning the heat off and letting the residual heat have a go for a few hours before turning it back on. Needs. More. Smoke. Must experiment more.

3 comments
  1. I don't want to sound like an old school marm here, but have you researched smoking? There are pretty much too kinds, hot smoking (think hot links) and cold smoking (think smoked salmon). I would urge you to research this a little, cause it sounds like your quote-

    “I think I am going to try to experiment with leaving the smoker on super-duper low heat for extended periods of time, or just turning the heat off and letting the residual heat have a go for a few hours before turning it back on.”

    is kind of an instinctual urge to cold smoke. There are some food safety issues inherent in the process, if not done carefully you can get ill. Let me tell you, I got a hit of some bad smoked chicken once and I have never been sicker.

    Prague powder is generally used for cold smoking, I would urge you to consult the internets or buy a book. Ruhlman is always a good resource. I don't think you will achieve a true cold smoke with what you are describing, and you might just be holding the meat temp. in the so called “danger zone.”

    If you are truly interested in small scale home smoking, the Smokepistol (http://www.smokepistol.com/smokepistol.html) along with your home grill seems a good option.

    Again, sorry to sound as if I am lecturing, but ol' timey food preservation is one of my things, and I just wouldn't want to see you get sick.

  2. p – thank ye!

    Mr. Dave – no no no! Thank you – See, I would likely do something to give myself serious food poisoning, so I will take your words and use them to do research. In all honesty, it's a miracle I haven't done anything like that yet.

Leave a Reply

