Jarritos Soda Sample

“Ooooo! Oh, there she is, Albany Jane! Oh, Albany Jane! We know it’s yoooouuuu!! Woo hooooo, look at the faaaaammmooouuuus Albany Jane!”

My landlord was in the front lawn doing some yard work and dancing in front of me, teasing me over a package I’d received, and that he’d almost kept for himself.

What could it be?

A package of delicious Mexican sodas.

Jarritos!

I couldn’t really blame him if he had kept them all. I first tried one of these tasty delights in Tampa, Florida. They are much more available in southern U.S. states than they are up here, but we are slowly seeing Jarritos available in Albany, NY.


What I like most about Jarritos is that they are made with real sugar, not high fructose corn syrup. Health issues aside, I just prefer the taste of sugar to HFCS.


I opened up my package, which I received for free compliments of Liz at Rocket XL marketing company (thanks, Liz!), and found 11 different varieties of Jarritos soda, plus a T-shirt and CD.

Here is the T-shirt. Very bright and cute, no? I rather like it! I don’t normally wear promo stuff as anything other than a sleeping shirt, but I will probably wear this out unless Albany John steals it from me (yeah, I saw you eyeing it).


Here is the Club Jarritos promo CD. It wasn’t quite to my tastes, but then again, I have what is known as “terrible taste in music”, so don’t take my word for it (no one believes me until they tell me to put some music on, and then they quickly change it).


Hello beauties! I popped them in my fridge to chill for a while, then then pulled them out of the box.

Eleven. Flavors. of. JARRITOS! Can you say excited?!

Top Row, left to right:
Grapefruit, Guava, Mango, Strawberry, Pineapple

Bottom Row, L-R:

Mandarin, Lemon-Lime, Jamaica, Tamarind, Fruit Punch, Lime

Albany John is the soda fiend in our house, and he could not wait to open them up. He eventually started threatening to drink them all if I didn’t hurry up and open at least some of them.

I opened up the Jamaica and Tamarind sodas first.

The Jamaica had a nice hibiscus flavor to it. Very tasty, without being too sweet.

The tamarind managed to tame much of the tartness of tamarind that I don’t normally like. It was on the tarter side of sweet, while still staying true to tamarind’s general flavor profile.

As with all Jarritos sodas, they are a little less carbonated than U.S. sodas. I enjoy this, as I find the carbonation in most sodas, like Pepsi, to be a bit too aggressive. This isn’t a terribly large difference anyone will notice, but for occasional soda drinkers like myself it is what would make me veer towards a Jarritos soda over another option.

If I could sum them up in general, I’d say that they are refreshing and well flavored without being too sweet.

I also got three points good at Club Jarritos. The bottle caps aren’t twist offs, so don’t forget to have a bottle opener handy. Luckily, as a functional alcoholic person who likes to be prepared for all situations, I have one on my keychain, ready to go at all times.

I just wanted you to see the ingredient list. Carbonated water, Natural Sugar, Citric Acid, Natural Flavor, Caramel Color, Sodium Benzoate, and coloring. Pretty simple stuff. It’s not health food, but it’s one heck of a tasty beverage.

You probably don’t want to look at the calorie count though. Each bottle has 2 servings, with 110 calories per serving. As a diet drinker, any ‘regular’ soda seems really high cal, but Jarritos is worth the caloric splurge. (However if there were diet Jarritos… Dear Jarritos, please make diet Jarritos. I will love you forever and ever. Even more than I do now. XOXO, AJ).




The Jamaica soda also went well as a mixer for cocktails. I think diet tastes okay when mixed with liquors, but regular sodas just seem to mix better.

This was quite a refreshing mix, and tasted pretty much just like soda. Only with booze hidden in it.

If you haven’t seen Jarritos before, keep an open mind when you’re perusing the soda aisle. They’re worth a go, and are quite true to the refreshing aspects of the flavor of the soda. I know Magdalena’s Menu at the Troy Farmer’s Market carries them.

Do any other Latin American groceries/restaurants in the area also carry them?

9 comments
  1. DelSo said:

    I think I remember seeing these at the old Delmar Garcia's Tacqueria…haven't visited the new incarnation so I can't say if they have them, too. And, no, we don't eat Mexican every night!!!

  2. beck said:

    I love Pineapple Jarritos. I often order a bottle when we get takeout from Mr. Pio Pio. As a lover of all things mango, I'll have to look for that flavor.

    I'm pretty certain they stock Jarritos at the Westgate Chopper as well as the Central Avenue Hannaford. They also serve them at Pancho's on Central and I'm pretty sure at both of Albany's El Mariachis.

  3. JMP said:

    Bros usually has them too. And you get a full selection at La Marqueta (Frank and Giovanni's.)

  4. Wow! That brought me back to my semester in Mexico. You did a really great job describing the flavour of Jamaica. I'm all “well it's kinda like cherry but not really. Just drink the damn thing!”

  5. Leah said:

    I may be forced to head out into the night to pick some up, or at least to scour the stores for them.

    Have you tried the Goya sodas? That I know I can find at the local PC.

  6. Anonymous said:

    Guava is my favorite ever!!!!! West coast Safeway's have them stocked and they are cheaper than US brands.

  7. In response to your comment:

    “As with all Jarritos sodas, they are a little less carbonated than U.S. sodas. I enjoy this, as I find the carbonation in most sodas, like Pepsi, to be a bit too aggressive. This isn’t a terribly large difference anyone will notice, but for occasional soda drinkers like myself it is what would make me veer towards a Jarritos soda over another option.”

    Just thought I'd let you know, they are actually MORE carbonated than most sodas, including the ones you spoke of here. Lol. Que loco. Mind over matter, right? Lol 😉

    VIVA JARRITOS!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

