Red Robin

Went to Red Robin recently for my Mom’s birthday. I am usually a fail-daughter when it comes to her birthday, so this year I tried to do my best to make it special for her.

My mom is a bit of a picky eater. She likes her food plain, and doesn’t like most vegetables. Red Robin was a good spot to take her. It pretty much is the perfect spot for her – burgers and fries. Can’t go wrong with those. I’d say it’s in her top 5 for meals, with prime rib and a baked potato being number one.

I also enjoy Red Robin. They have some satisfying burgers, should the craving for a mega-huge burger hit. I like the coarse grind of the meat. And being super uncreative, I like their over the top take on toppings for burgers. Oh, and the bottomless steak fries also help, too.

I got the A-1 Peppercorn burger, which came with bacon, parmesan peppercorn spread, some cheese, and ‘crispy onion straws’ (fried onion bits). It sounded interesting. It was very peppery. I did my usual at Red Robin – Eat less than a quarter of the burger and MOW DOWN THE FRIES.

Albany John got the Pub Burger, which was a good combo of swiss cheese, mushrooms and onions sauteed with ale, and some tomatoes (he left off the ranch dressing – ew). I really liked this burger. The ale flavor was surprisingly pronounced in the ‘shrooms and onions. It was a tasty burger. I’d get this the next time I went.

I didn’t cringe or nag when my mom ordered her fries “Extra hot and really crispy – almost so that they’re burnt, but not”. Instead I smiled and nodded. The waitress said she’d make a note of it, and the kitchen actually cooked them longer. My mom was very happy. She got a bacon cheeseburger, and quite liked it.
I think she got the most enthusiastic birthday song from the servers, which she was just over the moon for (my mom loves attention). That was nice because there were a lot of birthdays when we went there, so she felt extra special.

I think Red Robin’s ordering system is a bit funny. You order your burgers “pink, no pink, or very well done”. But the ‘pink’ burgers are not too bad, and consistently pink. Better average of getting a not overcooked burger here than in many non-chain places I’ve visited.
Oh, and they’ve also had to start putting their calorie counts on the menus, which is a HUGE downer. I mean, I’m a glutton, so it didn’t stop me from ordering what I wanted, but I was like “ONE THOUSAND CALORIES IN A BURGER?! ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME? I DIDN’T WANT TO SEE THAT!! I CAME HERE AS A TREAT!” (Oh, and fries are an extra 500 or so calories. Super).
Red Robin also has other entrees, sandwiches, soups, salads, and appetizers. Albany John likes their salads. Tons of stuff in them.


And OH MY GOSH, don’t forget to ask for Campfire sauce. It’s cracktacularly good to dip your fries in. I’m sure it’s just a combination of BBQ sauce and mayo, but I’m going to pretend there’s no mayo in it and just enjoy it as a creamy, tangy slathering vehicle for fries.

So yeah, Red Robin’s a nice spot in the area, especially if you’ve got a picky eater in your group. I’ve always had good service from staff there. Not all chains are the devil, and hey, when the food’s good, it’s good, right?

2 comments
  1. I do love Red Robin. I also have the same problem of not being able to finish my burger, but eat all the fries I possibly can. I think it could be the bottomless steak fries effect.

  2. grace said:

    red robin doesn't get enough credit–it really is an awesome place for a burger. anywhere i can get pepper jack AND guacamole AND roasted peppers on a burger is okay by me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

