Trader Joe’s Truffle Cheese

One of the items I bought at Trader Joe’s was Italian Truffle Cheese. I love the truffle cheese at the Co-Op, but their cheese prices have become rather expensive. I probably haven’t had it in about two or so years. When I saw Trader Joe’s new Italian Truffle Cheese, I had to grab a wedge and give it a try.

I believe what they sell at the Co-Op is called Caciotta Al Tartufo. It’s delightfully buttery, and pleasantly filled with truffle bits. However, it’s also close to $20/lb. Trader Joe’s Italian Truffle Cheese was only $11.99/lb, and the wedge I got cost $5.76. I thought it was worth a try for the price, and I’m quite happy I did.

The ingredients are simple: cow’s milk, cheese cultures, rennet, black truffles, and salt. No extracts, flavorings, etc.


The rind is perfectly edible, too. I prefered it since it was a bit firmer. The cheese has the firmness of cheddar or provolone. Soft enough, but totally sliceable. This wasn’t as buttery, but it was fully flavored with truffle. There weren’t many truffle bits in the slices I cut, but I was very happy with how the truffle penetrated the rest of the cheese. Truffle cheese on the cheap!

If you like caciotta al tartufo, I recommend giving the good Trader’s truffle cheese a try. It would be very nice on a cheese plate, or just with some good bread and wine. I have a sneaking suspicion it would also make a great grilled cheese sandwich.

8 comments
  1. Oh, heck yes grilled truffle cheese sandwich!

  2. I've never succumbed to the Trader Joe's bandwagon, but today you may have convinced me.

  3. Ucc said:

    Truffle cheese quesadillas. Be about it.

  4. Anonymous said:

    I just had a sandwich on a ciabiatta roll with this cheese from Trader Joe's! OMG! It's fantastic. Also try the Apricot Stilton on a salty cracker! Delicious!

  5. Roberta Carroll said:

    For the most part almost all of trader joe's food is really good. Love love love that place.

  6. Anonymous said:

    I made macaroni and cheese with lobster and this cheese was great and used black truffle oil also. Was delishhhhhhh!!!!

Leave a Reply

