Salted Caramel Macarons

Happy Bastille Day, Frenchies! In true American fashion, I would like to present you something you are familiar with, only much poorer in quality. Macarons a l’Humidité

Still, they weren’t that hard to make. I don’t understand why I was so daunted by the thought of macarons initially. They were so easy.

They’re like the prissy girl at school that everyone things is a goody-goody, but it turns out that she’s actually really relaxed and easy to hang out with. She can’t help how she looks, or where she came from.
They seemed so… fussy. Egg whites. At room temp. And whipping. Oh gawsh, the whipping. I’d never had much luck with whipping egg whites. But you know what? Despite the macaron’s temperamental reputation, she’s actually a peach to get along with.

So I got a little fancy with this latest batch of macarons. I decided to give them a little salted caramel filling, and toss in some coconut powder in the shells. Why not? LIVE A LITTLE.

First I made the salted caramel. Because it needed to cool off, and I know I’d have a hard time resisting liquid hot caramel if I made it later on.

Just a cup of sugar, 6 T butter, generous pinch of kosher salt, and 200 g cream. Super duper easy. Melt sugar. Add butter. Take off heat, stir in cream like crazy. Splattering will happen, so use a deep pot.

Allo Macaron blobs. Here’s the recipe I used to make the coconut macarons. The coconut powder was similar in texture to powdered sugar, and contained a little sugar as well. I think it could have used more. It was a very subtle flavor.

Coconut Shell Macarons

3 egg whites + 50g granulated sugar
110 g almonds + 150 g powdered sugar + 50 g coconut powder

Microwave egg whites 10 seconds. Let sit at room temp for 2+ hours, then microwave an additional 10-15 seconds (nothing to cook the egg, just to evaporate moisture. If it cooks they’re done and you’ll have to start over again.

Grind the almonds, powdered sugar, and coconut powder in a blender until almonds are finely ground. Set aside on a plate or bowl.

Whip egg whites into stiff peaks, adding granulated sugar along the way.

Toss in your dry stuff and fold/stir 50 times. Put into a bag and pipe onto parchment covered sheets.

Bake 300 F for 10 minutes, turning halfway. I recommend baking on the rack further away from your heat source.

Yay, macaron feeties in humidity! And not even one burnt one! Haha! But some did crack. Stupid humidity and water in the air.

I had them sitting right next to the AC in my bedroom (the coldest AC in the house) for an hour or two to chill out, and it paid off. Phew!

Then it was time to break out the salted caramel sauce that was sitting in the fridge. Mmmm.

I had several spoonfuls of this stuff. It’s way too easy to eat. WAY. TOO. EASY.

And then assembly, which is better left for a cooler day. It got a little melty because it was so hot and humid. The salted caramel started melting quickly. These were ugly, messy macarons, but still quite good. Slick and his girl came over and wolfed some down.

The coconut flavor was quite subtle, so next time I’ll add way more powder and let ya know how it goes.

And I learned some things. Like, you really shouldn’t make macarons during a heat wave with 65%+ humidity. I did. It’s not a killer, at least if you’ve got the AC blasting, but just not ideal. But the shells could have poofed more, and they stuck a bit to the parchment paper despite not being overcooked. A bit of water underneath the parchment paper helped loosen them (it only takes a few seconds).

4 comments
  1. If and when our new oven gets ordered and installed, this is one of the first things Andy is going to have to make. These look great! (And I love your prissy girl analogy – who knew I was such a macaron?)

  2. JoJo said:

    yum! I love coconut powder! I use it in chocolate chip cookies. These macarons sounds amazing.

  3. grace said:

    see, i'd much rather be eating ice cream than working on these girly, fickly little things. that caramel, though, would be worth my time. especially poured over ice cream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

