Pints from Snowman Ice Cream

I got these comically large “pints” of ice cream from The Snowman in Troy, NY.

They gave them to me like this at the counter, and I was expecting them to smush them down into the container more. Like, they fill them up with air in between scoops, then put the paper over it and smush down with the tops. But no. These monstrously sized pint babies came with tops on the side.

It sure made me feel like I was getting extra for the $4.50 per pint they cost. Which isn’t too bad at all, when you figure they make all of the ice cream themselves. I tried pricing out how much it would cost me to make my own ice cream and decided that it was just better for me to buy them every so often. My gosh, especially when they come packed like this.

The Unveiling!

I went with some pretty classic old people type flavors. Butter Pecan and Rum Raisin. The butter pecan made my think of my Nana – she loved butter pecan and pecan praline.

I tried smooshing some of the ice cream back into the containers and no dice. They are PACKED with ice cream.

Overall, I liked the flavors, and how they melted cleanly on the tongue. Creamy, but not overly so, and after getting it home it was soft and not too dense. I’ll let you know if there’s a significant change in texture after freezing and setting overnight.

Snowman takes credit cards, but best of all – they asked me if I wanted spoons. For my pints. I’m sorry, I mean my “pints”.

3 comments
  1. This brought back some memories of my Gram too, who also loved Butter Pecan. Thank you for that.

  2. SB's “Nana” loves butter pecan too.
    mmmhhhmmmm so lush!

  3. Anonymous said:

    wow, I have forgotten all about snowmans.. a favorite since I was a kid. (for my old pup too)..It has been a while… Now I am craving butter pecan… thanks 😉

Leave a Reply

