First Annual Pig Roast at The Ruck

After checking out the Wine & Food and Fall Ferrari Festival at SPAC in Saratoga Springs, I raced to The Ruck (104 3rd St, Troy, NY) to check out their First Annual Pig Roast.

I got there a little late, but it was $5 for all you can eat, $15 for All you can eat plus a shirt and 32 oz plastic mug. And it all benefited some kind of charity organization that I can’t remember right now. Albany John had arrived earlier, and was going for plate #2 when I got in. I was still feeling a little full from SPAC (boo hoo, poor me, I know) so I didn’t get food.

HOLY MOLY there were a ton of people there. The entire bar was packed and the line for food was long. They had a buffet of pork, beans, wings (!), and other foods out. Wow, that looked awesome. I thought it was a really generous spread to put out for the $5 charge.

I popped out the back to see the owner manning the helm of the grill. Oh, what a beautiful sight. A huge smoker at the back of The Ruck.

Lots of folks, too! The event was sponsored by Coors, and there were specials on Coors beer as a result. $2 refills on those sweet mugs! It seemed like The Ruck was appreciative of the sponsorship to hold the event.


Albany John snagged one extra piece of pork outside. Oh, Mr. Ruck Owner, you are too awesome. Albany John lurved the pork something fierce.

I am so looking forward to next year’s pig roast. Although to be frank, I think there should be an annual pig roast every week.

2 comments
  1. I really missed out 😦 stupid forced family fun time!

  2. Man, family always knows how to ruin the porky fun!

Leave a Reply

