Canned Salmon Sushi

Canned salmon sushi. You heard that right. Canned salmon sushi. It’s a combination of cheap, lazy, inventive, and DELICIOUS.

I’d already gone to the store to get sushi rice and a cucumber, and figured Albany John and I would do vegetarian sushi for dinner. This would have been fine, except I hadn’t realized we didn’t have much in the way of vegetables for sushi aside from carrots and the aforementioned cucumber. And a few eggs. The hell? Yeah, I do that a lot. Plan on something, but kind of forget a key and crucial part of it. Like the fillings for sushi part. Jeeze.

So foraging around the house, I found a can of salmon.

Oh, we’re gonna make this work.

And it did. I pretty much just added some stuff to it so it came out like spicy tuna mix/dip stuff. Whatever you want to call it, it made an adequately bastardized sushi filling. Cooked spicy tuna roll.

Recipe? It’s barely one: Canned salmon, spoonful or two of cottage cheese, spicy condiment (to taste). Mix to combine and YOU’RE DONE! Ta Da! Cooked, cheap spicy salmon rolls. And no mayo!

And then there was everything else I made. Combinations of tamago, strips of cucumber and carrot, and some acorn squash. And tons of toasted black and white sesame seeds. Soooo good.

Tamago is super easy to make. And super tasty. Basically, you take 2-3 eggs, add in a shot (1.5 oz) each of mirin and soy sauce, and then cook it like this. I just make them in a large pan over low heat. It doesn’t come out in a perfect square, but no one will notice when you’re eating sushi rolls, or cut the ends off to make nigiri sushi.

And don’t forget to toast your nori! Just a leeettttell bit. It changes the flavor of the nori up so you don’t wanna stop shoving piece after piece in your mouth.

Here’s the last platter of sushi. I made about 9-10 rolls of sushi out of 1.5 C sushi rice (dry and then cooked) and 5 sheets of nori (cut in half). And it was way easy for two people to eat. Maybe too easy.

I made most of my rolls inside out, because they stick together better for me when I roll them. But I also rocked out a few traditionally shaped (but not filled) rolls. They held their shape better than the inside-out rolls. Actually, the tamago rolls are probably the closest thing to traditional there.

Making your own sushi is time consuming (I’m no Chef Saso (oh man, I miss those indulgence rolls)), but if you’ve done it a few times, it’s still fun and way cheaper than going out.

Leave a Reply

