Squash Flower

Albany John and I pureed some squash in a blender. I think it looks a little bit like a flower. Maybe? No? Kind of?
When I say that we both made it, I mean Albany John put some squash in a blender with some turkey stock. I have no idea if it was the hubbard squash or just the roasted butternut squash, because I came in when he was cursing at the blender, and squash pieces that were refusing to puree and trying to tamp it all down with a knife.
“GodDAMNit! Fucking squash! BLEND!!”
It just needed a lot more liquid. Like, a LOT more liquid than you’d think squash could absorb. But after a few knife tampings of my own, we had some light and fluffy squash puree.
…which I still haven’t eaten because it’s a combo of sweet (squash) and savory (turkey stock), and that whole concept is just beyond me.

3 comments
  1. It's the week for squash puree. I made a kinda Thai butternut squash soup last night.

    Onions, coriander, cumin, ginger, turmeric, clove, black pepper, salt, fish sauce, chicken stock, coconut milk and but-nut squash. Topped it with a bit of cayenne and freshly toasted coconut.

    I had no problem with the blender, because there was plenty of liquid. But then again, it didn't provide me with a squash flower.

    Oddly it went pretty well with latkes.

  2. lol, Butt-nut is an unfortunate contraction.

  3. Dan – I might consider this a viable dipping sludge… good idea.

    acridian – Dude! Haha, that's awesome. I call it buttskwa, but I am so switching to butt-nut

Leave a Reply

