OctoRice!

I found baby octopi at the Asian Food Market (Colvin Ave, Albany, NY) for only $3.99! It was in the freezer section and sold in 1 lb frozen blocks. I finally got around to thawing it out, and cooked it two ways.

Yummy!

They came whole. These are more like large octopus babies, or very mini octopi. One would fit in the palm of my hand. I simmered a few whole for about 45 minutes in some water with a bay leaf and salt. Really tender. I know their heads look a little like leaking zombies, but this was easy to prepare. And then I used that liquid to make rice with! Really subtle flavor. I wouldn’t have been able to guess that it was made with octopus broth.


The other way was just lightly pan searing it for a few seconds. Watch the tentacles move under the heat from the pan. This was also good stuff. Kept a nice chewy texture. Like salt and pepper squid, only with non-battered octopus.

If you like squid, you’d like these little octopi. They tasted really similar.

4 comments
  1. B said:

    Hmmm… octopus broth? I may have to change my plans for the 22nd…

  2. Seriously. But it's so mild, it makes shrimp broth look pungent. Kind of like non-veg seaweed broth, I guess?

  3. I said it before Im not gonna eat those crawling thing, but then, I ate my words, and baby octopus is just good.

  4. Mary said:

    I, too, have found some real bargains in the freezer case at the Asian market. This looks delicious. I'm new to to your blog and have been browsing through your earlier entries. I really like the food and recipes you feature here. I'll be back. I hope you have a good day. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

