Red Pack Tomatoes Review & Giveaway!

When the people at Red Pack Tomatoes contacted me and asked me if I would like to try a sample of their product, I was all on board. I like trying new things. So I was expecting a shipment in the mail. But I was not expecting this! It was a large tin filled with Red Pack shwag!

The container is so cute! I plan on using it as some kind of a decoration for my house. Maybe like a mini table or something. Too cute to get rid of.

I decided to try out their tomatoes in a sauce. I made tomato sauce with anchovies, fresh basil, and some milk (no cream). Their tomatoes are bright without being tart. I bought some other tomatoes recently that had the organic label slapped on them, but I much preferred my usual non-organic canned tomatoes. The organic ones were really tart and lemony – hard to mask and not very good for making tomato sauce (my favorite application of canned tomatoes).

But any way – these crushed Red Pack tomatoes were fine for sauce. Not crushed into oblivion – some chunks here and there. I’ve seen them for about $1.49 in stores locally for large cans (either 28 oz or 32 oz), so they aren’t priced outrageously.

Here is what is in the can. A ton of red confetti and two cans of tomatoes – crushed and whole.

More shwag! A can opener I haven’t been able to figure out how to use (but it looks really cool), a spatula, a pasta spoon, and some magnets. The pasta spoon is pretty ergonomic, too. It’s got nubbins where you place your thumb on the handle.

So, do you live in the US and would you like to win a cute sampler tin of Red Pack tomatoes?
Of course you do!
Leave a comment! Maybe win!
(Please have an email either in your profile, or just popped in the comment so I can contact ya!)

12 comments
  1. derry X said:

    Red Pack tomatoes are great for a marinara sauce or even pizza sauce.

  2. llcwine said:

    Red pack has been a reliable brand with a consistent product over the years.

  3. Anonymous said:

    Love the word “Schwag”…and tomatoes. Nice veggies for this time of year.
    gabbys35@yahoo.com

  4. B said:

    Why do half the comments here sound like the stuff WordPress flags as spam?

    Looks tasty, but this brings a past conversation here about getting free stuff for review is apropos. Crushed tomatoes are not expensive, why not grab many different brands and do a double blind tasteoff?

  5. -S said:

    Would be nice to list the nutritional values. What's the sodium content in these for example?

  6. Well, of course I want to win something! And I'm relatively new to your blog… but I love reading it!

  7. The Bean said:

    I love tomatos and wanna win! 🙂

  8. Tammy said:

    Love your blog and would love to win!

  9. Veronica said:

    yumm!

    vvittitoe (at) gmail (dot) com

  10. I use so many canned tomatoes – it's crazy. Especially during the “chili” winter season.
    susitravl(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

