Roe-Topped Dumplings

Roe-Topped dumplings. Good stuff. I had a hankering for something siu-mai-like, but on the whole I’m not a big fan of siu mai (texturally, they’re just a bit too smooth for me), so I trotted out my basic dumpling recipe and tossed in a can of crab meat and some roe for good measure.

These were super easy to make. No need to seal them!

And just because seafood is involved doesn’t make this an expensive dish. I made several trays of dumplings out of the recipe below (and it’s hardly a recipe, really… so flexible) and used a cheapo can of crab meat that was probably more like canned crab floss than actual meat. And the capelin roe is a steal at $9.99 for a 1 lb container of it at the Asian Food Market. Now there’s something to jazz up sushi night.

I like how pretty the roe looks when the dumplings are raw. I didn’t think it would cook up to a neon orange/yellow! (BTW, that roe lasts a long time and is great to top rice with to add some flair to your meals. I’m not a rice fan, but it’s adding a little bit more flavor and color to make me want to eat it more frequently)
Porky & vaguely seafood-y dumplings. These make for some easy “I’m hungry and want something substantial but don’t know what to make” dinners. Wish I’d made them for the food swap – they are very impressive looking, too.

Roe-Topped Dumpling Recipe
1.5 lb ground pork (more or less is fine)
1 can crab meat
1/2 head napa cabbage, shredded, salted, and drained
1″ peeled ginger, grated/minced
Soy sauce, sesame oil, sweet vermouth, white pepper to taste
Capelin Roe to top
dumpling/wonton skins
Pop ’em in to dumpling wrappers and steam for 10-15 minutes or freeze for later.

Leave a Reply

