Salted Vegetable with Soy Bean Skin & Edamame

I love the salted veggie with soy bean skin dish at one of my favorite Chinese restaurants. It’s a comforting dish that really adds a bit of greenery to colder months. I also like to think it’d got some cold-curing properties, too.

I found this recipe for Soy Beans, Snow Cabbage, & Tofu Skin Ribbons off of Food Mayhem’s site, and it’s super-duper easy and awesome.

You only need three ingredients. Seriously, that’s it. No extra sauces or condiments. Some mustard greens (or whatever kinda-bitter greens), edamame, and soy bean skin. (I got the soy bean skin at the Asian Supermarket – $2.99 for 8 oz). I’ve also used the dried thin sheets of tofu skin, too. Either way, soy goodness.

Okay, so there’s some prep work involved. You could half-ass it and use the salted preserved veggie packets/jars/cans, but c’mon. This tastes so much better, and so much fresher. It’s worth the extra time investment.

Wash and separate the leaves from your bunches of mustard greens.

Then give them a fine dice, or a rough mince and sprinkle them with a few tablespoons of kosher salt.

The dicing takes me the longest. But it’s so worthwhile.

Then after you salt it, you start mixing it up. Really work that salt in there. Give ’em a squeeze. We want to drain out excess water so it’s more like a pickle.

After letting it sit for about an hour, there’s extra liquid on the bottom. After this, I transferred the greens to a towel and squeezed it out to really wring out excess moisture. No need to be gentle with these greens!

Then it’s time to slice up your soy bean skin. Easiest part of the recipe. Open packet. Slice into ribbons. Done. One 8 oz packet of soy bean skin lasted me for two large recipes.

Then it’s time to get cookin! Add a few teaspoons of oil into your pan and let them heat up. Toss in some of the salted veggies. Sautee for a few minutes, just to lightly cook them.

After that, add in your tofu skin with some water or broth. You can keep it vegetarian, or add animal broth. I like chicken, but beef is fine too.This is mainly so the soy bean skin gets warmed up, and doesn’t stick to the pans. Just a few splashes is all you need. We’re not making soup here. Go lightly at first – you can always add more later.

Once that’s heated through, toss in the frozen edamame. Once they’re heated through your dish is done. That’s it!

Mmmm, gigantic plate of salted veggies and soy bean skin. I went a little heavy on the edamame in this dish, as you can tell. Whatever, still good!

Eat with some dumplings. Or don’t whatever. Sometimes I just like eating a big bowl of this stuff. So freaking good! Best of all, tons of protein! (for some reason, I never seem to eat enough protein)

5 comments
  1. Lanny said:

    It looks pretty good! Even better than the dish from restaurant.

  2. Lanny – You are too kind. The restaurant dish is waaay better ;D

  3. Jane, I loved the dish at the dinner and am excited to make it at home… actually it looks like it would be great for Thanksgiving.

    One question, do you really add the “pickled” mustard greens to the dish without washing off the salt after curing? When I have done that with cabbage in recipes it is way too salty to eat.

  4. Anonymous said:

    Thank you! I just made this for dinner and it was delish! I added about 1.5 tbsp of salt to the greens. It wasn't salty at all when I added in the other ingredients. I actually had to put a little more salt in while cooking it and I'm not a big salt user.

Leave a Reply

