All Good Bakers Opening Day

Had to hit up opening day (Friday) of the All Good Bakers storefront (160A Quail Street, Albany, NY) to check out Nick & Britin’s hard work. It’s right next door to Mr. Pio Pio!

I dragged the Profussor and the Fussy Little Children down to peep what was available in the afternoon. We snagged the last baguette ($3) and split it. Albany John remarked that it’s really nice to have a friend that you can split a loaf of bread with.

Also, Albany John was out of town, leaving me to cook bachelorette style. And if I hadn’t had a friend to split the loaf with, I would have totally housed that loaf on my own (absolutely slathered in butter). There is no doubt about it, because I housed that half a loaf of bread as soon as I got home. Nice fermented tang to the dough, and thin/crackly exterior with an awesome crumb in the center. So good I didn’t even have time to snap a picture. Didn’t even need butter (but not like that stopped me)!

While there I got a maple pecan scone ($2.50). SO AWESOME. Crumbly and moist in the center, crisp on the outside. I’ve had a cold so I haven’t been able to taste all that much lately, but the texture was a real delight.

Oh, and btw, they sell croissants on Sundays! I was out of town this weekend, otherwise I so would have been there.

2 comments
  1. the fuj said:

    I was there on Saturday to pick up a baguette for a cookout Saturday night and some multigrain just to have around the house. Yep, both are gone now. Haha.

  2. the fuj said:

    Oh I also got one of the Brown Rice Energy thingys to share. It was basically peanut butter, chocolate chips and deliciousness all wrapped up into a ball. Gotta get more than one next time!

Leave a Reply

