Lemon Poppy Chiffon Cake

Albany John is not a big sweets fan. He likes a few things. Jelly Beans = crack. Traditional birthday cake – eh, not so much. But one cake he enjoys is lemon poppy seed cake, so that’s usually his birthday cake. It’s usually a dense loaf-type cake, which was how I’ve made it for him in the past (and also sustained an impressive burn on my forearm when I forgot about the oven rack above the cake. Smartypants, I know).

I wanted to lighten the texture up this year and do a lemon poppy seed chiffon cake. Chiffon cakes are usually less saccharine and have a fluffier texture than traditional cakes. I added some poppy seeds (about 1/2 C) to this recipe from Happy Home Baker for Lemon Chiffon Cake. Her website is SO awesome for baked goods.

I don’t have an angel food pan, so I used a springform pan lined with parchment paper. I used my biggest one, so that’s why this looks so flat, lol. Not enough batter (my fault).

The glaze was simply a pat of butter, the juice from one lemon (only the finest NY-grown local lemons, please), and some sugar cooked in a pan until the sugar melted. And then poured over the cake. Lemonade Glaze, if you will.

I freaking love chiffon cakes. They’re so easy, light, and so perfect for warmer weather.

2 comments
  1. E said:

    Mmm… looks delicious. I love lemon, and lemon poppy seed. Will have to find an occasion to try this out soon 🙂

  2. Ashley said:

    This looks awesome! If it cools off here soon, I may just have to try this one out!

    Looking forward to meeting you at Jerry's blog party! Your blog is awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

