Matt’s Cape House

Grabbed a sandwich from Matt’s Cape House (1663 Route 9, Clifton Park, NY) when I was in the area relatively recently. I’m not sure why I didn’t order a lobster roll with double the lobster meat (for only $17!), but I wound up getting a chicken sandwich. It was like $5. Maybe $5.25 or something like that with tax. Bring some change with that fiver.


It comes with lettuce, tomato, and onion, but mine was all naked and such and I didn’t really feel like going up and bugging them for the rabbit mix. They had a little condiment area where one could get some mustards, hot sauces, and other such accoutrements to dress up your stuff.

It was a fine sandwich for the price. Juicy (almost too juicy in a brined kind of way) breast. It made me wonder if corning chicken would be a worthy effort. But it had a nice sear, and I like it when they’re on the juicer side than the dry and leathery side *shudder*. Tasty pickle, too. Roll was buttered, and a little heavy, so I only ate half and just ate the other with a knife and fork. OMG, what is going on with me?! I’m off my carb lust!

I must have been possessed to not order seafood. But most of it was fried, and I wasn’t in a fried or mayo-y (seafood salad-y) kind of mood. Next time, my dears. I promise I will get something fatty &/or lobstery.

I think this is a nice place to go in Clifton Park. I’m not quite used to the area, but on first impression it seems like there isn’t that much in some parts, or at the least that there are a lot of chains. Clifton Park will have to be my new exploration territory. I will find something rave-worthy! (Also, please let me know if you like something in CP!)
8 comments
  1. Nancy said:

    Check out Anitpasto's on 146 (old Ghetto Chopper Plaza) and the Jonesville Country store, great food all around and local.

  2. llcwine said:

    I believe Matt's Cape House is somehow related to Matt's Fish Fry in Cohoes…so you know the seafood and fish are top notch. The gentleman at Matt's Fish Fry goes to Rhode Island a few times a week to pick up the freshest products he can get,

  3. LC said:

    Oh, good! I can't wait to hear what you find in CP… I work up there but live in Albany, so I'm not that familiar with the area. I'm always looking for a good lunch place!

  4. Andrew said:

    Jonesville Country Store is an absolute must. You will love it. Snyder's on Rt. 9 is a wonderful greasy spoon type dive that is perfect when you need your AM cholesterol fix (sausage gravy & biscuits, corned beef hash & eggs, etc.) Shalimar for Indian and Sushi Thai Garden for Sushi and Thai food (duh!). Haven't tried Saigon Spring yet (Vietnamese) – they just opened recently.

  5. I keep meaning to go there, but I never do 'cause my boyfriend doesn't like fish/seafood. 😦

    Good places to try in CP? Pasta Pane's good. Tai Pan's not bad, either. And Halfmoon Salad and Sub Shop has really good stuff. Depends on what you're looking for, exactly, but there's plenty of good food around here. 🙂

  6. I've been exploring the restaurants up in CP as of late. I've gone to Saigon Spring twice and now that I think about it, I should go back soon. I like their Shalimar's up there, and it's also next to a Mexican place, which was… okay.

    I keep seeing the Jonesville store and one of these days I'll finally make my way in.

  7. Dudes, thanks for all of the info! llcwine – ohh, I wonder!

  8. Anonymous said:

    Caputo's pizzeria (Watkins Plaza). This is a must try!!!

Leave a Reply

