Garden Bistro 24 for Family Dinner

Bro, Margarita, and Baby Dubs came up from Mississippi for a bit recently. It was so good to see them! Hard it believe it’s been almost a year since I last saw them!

I wanted to do something special while they were up here, and booked a dinner at Garden Bistro 24 for them, my mom, my sister, plus Albany John and me. Oh, and a toddler.

I emailed ahead of time to partially arrange a special meal for my sister, who’d said she’d eat cooked food. So I requested something vegan and gluten-free. Much to my surprise, John Grizzaffi himself responded! Who ever expects the chef and OWNER of a restaurant to answer your emails? (He’s a peach, btw).

They have old fashioneds!So yummy! So potent!

Albany John got a hangar steak. Yum! Cooked med rare. My mom got a steak too, but no sauce. Not sure if she really liked it, she said it was kind of tough. Ah well. I guess I should have considered the cuts a little more. My mom’s more of a prime rib gal. I was hoping she’d like GB24 because they do simple meals, but I guess I didn’t consider the cuts she usually likes.

I got a duck confit special. Came in an amaretto sauce (but not too sweet). Two legs! Woah man – so much food! Really tasty – can’t get enough of their mustard, either.

My sis-in-law Margarita got a Garden Bistro 24 salad with Chicken. She really liked this.

My brother got mussels with the coconut sauce on them. He was like “These are fucking DELICIOUS!” (only add more cursing and it’s all said in caps). If I hadn’t seen the duck special I would have deffo ordered up some mussels!

Here is the special dish John made for my sister. I don’t think she actually ate any of it, since she ordered a salad instead. I guess she decided to switch back to raw food ’cause she got a salad. It was beautiful, though, and full of ingredients I don’t normally see on BG24’s menu. Freshly grilled seasonal veggies, kalamata olives, and organic polenta. The rest of us picked at it – so flavorful. I don’t know, I just wanted to have something she could/would eat with the rest of us aside from her usual greens, but I guess I screwed that one up along the way. I ordered it any way, since I made such a big deal about special ordering it. At least she was nice enough to take it home in a doggy bag, tossing it, I’m guessing, out of my view.

John – thank you very much for the effort you put in this dish (and vegans, put a rezzie here!).

A pic of Albany John’s steak, the special vegan dish, the salad my sis got instead, and a pic of my mom’s frites, ’cause evidently I didn’t snap a pic of her steak.

Service was great (as usual) – really friendly service, and guess what? Kids are always welcome here!

All done!

I always like going here. I was hoping I’d pick a place everyone would like because I like it so much. You can enjoy the food yourself, but you can’t necessarily force others to like what you do too. Or hope really hard. But you can enjoy the company and let them distract you from bluer thoughts ’cause you’re so happy to be with the crazy family you have.

Hunh, and here I thought I just went here for a meal. Instead I come out with some kind of life lesson.

7 comments
  1. Darnit, I really, REALLY need to get there one of these days! I never seem to be able to get there when they're open. 😦

  2. You know I really love GB24, and I'm totally looking forward to getting me some duck confit.

    But that cocktail.

    I don't know what the hell that is, but an old fashioned it isn't.

  3. Minus the cherry, looks like an Old Fashioned to me.

  4. Daniel B
    Being that I was the one that made the old fashioned, complete with the muddling of the cherry and orange, I have to believe that you don't know jack daniels about cocktails! But just to show you no hard feelings, stop in sometime and I'll make you one.
    Squire

  5. Albany Jane,
    Thank you for the kind words about my old-fasioned!

  6. Shazam!

    Part of me has been meaning to put up a link to my Old Fashioned Old Fashioned post for a while. Since I just got called out on the matter, I suppose now is as good a time as ever.

    http://fussylittleblog.com/2011/08/12/the-old-fashioned-old-fashioned/

    I'm always game for coming in and chatting cocktails. Especially to GB24. But perhaps Squire and clarify the build of the drink.

    What kind of cherries were muddled in the bottom of that glass? You know, inquiring minds.

  7. They were your standard restaurant maraschino cherries and Angostura bitters. I looked at your blog and would like to know who, besides yourself at home, makes an outstanding old-fashioned locally in the business. I've been to places where they don't even muddled fruit. Also I love making special order cocktails as long as the customers tell you how they would like it made ie, straining an old-fashioned or mojito, bourbon or rye, bitters or no bitters. Like most good things in life, it is up to the person to convey to you how they really enjoy something, so you can duplicate it.

Leave a Reply

