Childhood Flavors

I was just randomly thinking about food and flavors my friends and I liked as a kid.

When I think of my Sistah, I will always think of Sunny D & Fruit Punch, and microwave popcorn sprayed with I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter.


I was also a late 80s/early 90s kid who grew to love I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter. Shrimpfests with Dad, Zucchini Bread made by Sarah’s mom that I’d trade for something out of my lunch box (for some reason my mom hated me trading stuff from my lunch box).
Cream cheese & jelly sandwiches almost every day for lunch in kindergarten.
Capri Sun, S’sips, or a juice box with every lunch (man, no wonder I was a tubby kid).
Pasta & butter.
Grilling Sabrett (natural casing) or Hebrew National hot dogs on the grill over the summer.
My mom grilling/cooking chicken wings before they became popular.
Binaca bread/baby jesus bread (It’s basically just braided bread stuffed with sweet ricotta filling).

If you had a pizza party for your birthday or a Carvel ice cream cake, that was an awesome birthday.

What are some of your childhood highlight foods?





4 comments
  1. salami sandwiches on Freihofer bread, Fruit Roll-Ups, pizza frite so big it wouldn't fit on a paper plate, frozen Charleston Chews

  2. Erika said:

    American cheese sandwiches with mustard. I had them every.single.day in school.

  3. my favorite day of the week during elementary school was the day we got flying saucers (ice cream sandwiches) from Carvel. yum. our “go to” lunch growing up was always peanut butter and honey (not the standard jelly)on whatever bread was available. we also loved the little round cheese that comes wrapped in red wax. not because the cheese was delicious, but because the wax was fun to play with. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

