Petta’s

I’m trying to search out more restaurants in Schenectady, so Albany John and I went dinner at Petta’s in Schenectady with Phairhead & Sexy Beast. Yay date night!
Don’t even ask me how many slices of bread I had. Ok, I had 6. Tasty stuff. The service was great – our waiter was friendly and knew his stuff. The decor itself is 50s recreation room. Kitchy.
Dinners come with salad or soup. I got the chicken soup to start, which was a bit heavy on the grease. Probably wouldn’t get it again.
Albany John went with a salad, which had comically large slices of celery, but was overall a nice starter salad because everything else was bite-sized.
For dinner I ordered the veal cutlet sorrentino. Great fry-job on the eggplant. The bottom was veal cutlet, and the top were thin eggplant slices. I wasn’t so crazy about the sauce – it was a little sharp for me and had some metallic finish going on. I got a side of linguine – s’okay.

Albany John got veal oreganata with a ton of sliced mushrooms. Loved those mushrooms. It was okay, too.
Sexy Beast got the prime rib – this was the SMALL 12 oz steak. GET THE STEAKS, GET THE STEAKS, GET THE STEAKS. This was perfectly cooked (med rare as requested) and so deliciously savory. Soft & buttery. The au jus was perfect – incredibly savory – not at all watery or weak. This was a beefy dish in every sense of the word. Phairhead and I stole Sexy Beast’s cast off fat bits (who throws those away?!)
Phairhead got the lasagna – I’m glad I didn’t. Fennel all up in that sausage! But good for a fennel lover.

I’m probably going to pass on the pasta dishes at Petta’s the next time I go, but I am ALL OVER that steak section!

8 comments
  1. Third Auntie said:

    Holy cow! Lookit the size of those servings! Looks like you have lots of leftovers for the week. 🙂

  2. the fuj said:

    Have you been to More Perreca's yet? Super casual and cheap, but good food.

  3. SB is still salivating over the mutant jumbo shrimp & cocktail sauce

  4. Chelle said:

    I was taken out to dinner at Petta's once, had the pasta and swore to never go again. It was tasteless an awful. But good to know their steak is great!

  5. Tyler Durden said:

    If you want good Italian food in Schenectady try Scotti's or Ferrari's. Petta's doesn't compare to these two.

  6. speshulk99 said:

    Medium rare steak????? maybe you should check the camera settings before taking the shot. Looks like and old inner tube. Good grief!!!

  7. 3rd Auntie – it was a ton of food, that's for sure.

    fuj – haven't been there yet either. I'll put it on the list!

    p – I really have steak envy.

    Chelle – For real. That steak. Dude. It was good. And I get sad when people mess up steak.

    TD – Nice. I'll give them a try! Thanks dude.

    speshulk – haha, i know, right? It's blurry as shit, too, but at least it's somethin'.

  8. THE STEAK IN THIS PLACE IS TO DIE FOR OUTSIDE OF EATING AT DELMONICOS THIS IS MY FAVORITE PLACE I HAVE TO HAVE THE STEAK HERE AT LEAST 1 A MONTH GO EVERYBODY TRY IT BET YOU’LL GO BACK

Leave a Reply

