From Scratch Club Food Swap – April 2012

Food swap, From Scratch Club style! The From Scratch Club is a lovely group of ladies who are all about combining food powers & making the world a better place. Their food swaps are a great way to try some new foods and swap out some of your own stock.

I made whole wheat & semolina pappadelle to swap.
Dough

1.5 C Semolina Flour
1.5 C White Whole Wheat flour
3 egg yolks + 1 whole egg (I just had a bunch of yolks in my fridge, you can also just use 3 eggs)
salt

Olive Oil (1/4 – 1/3 C)

Knead, roll. Slice into thick strips, let dry et voila.
Tables & tables with items on offer for swapping. What I like about this is that you don’t have to go crazy with what you bring to swap. Just bring something you’ve got a lot of, or can make a bunch of. It might be easy for you to make, but other people may have never made it before, or find it more complicated than you do.

I wasn’t sure of what to make for the swap, so I waited until the night before and sought inspiration from my pantry. I wanted something that would keep well at room temp and was fairly easy for me to make. While time consuming, working with dough is something that always seems easy to me. I rolled my dough to the second possible thinnest setting and did a rough/rustic slicing.
So much food!
Christine chatting up the crowd. Thanks for a fun time, ladies!

1 comment
  1. I totally wanted that chimchurri sauce you pictured. That was good!

Leave a Reply

