Burger & Chicken n’ Waffles at City Beer Hall

 Albany John and I went out to see the Trailer Park Boys live show at the Egg. The show itself was better than I could have imagined, but the crowd made me freaking hate humanity. But any way. We didn’t eat before we went to the show, so we went to City Beer Hall for some sustenance post-show. There’s a free parking lot just around the corner from the bar, and I’ve never had any issue with finding a spot.

My better half ordered the chicken and waffles ($12). Fried chicken, waffles, and gravy – how can you go wrong?? The fried chicken was quite nice – crispy and not greasy. Very generous portion sides. 

 The waffles were fluffy. I’d be impressed if these were made to order. The more time-effective method would be to make them fresh once every day or two and freeze, then thaw to order. 

 I got a juicy lucy for $10. The Juicy Lucy is a “kobe” burger with a slice of gouda cheese stuffed inside. Nice char marks on the burger. It came with some hand cut fries – I was surprised at how much I enjoyed them. Nicely salted, and generally crispy. I hate it when hand cut fries are limp and greasy. I ordered my juicy lucy rare. I was interested to see how it would come out. I mean, rare burger and melty cheese innards do not exist, right? Oh man, please don’t be well done…

Rare burger! Good (thick-ish) grind, but I’d probably order a cheeseburger over a juicy lucy because the cheese gets lost in the center of a rare burger and I couldn’t taste it. It could have used some more salt, but otherwise quite enjoyable. Overall, it’s bar food done quite well – a level above what you’d expect a beer hall to have in terms of quality and detail

6 comments
  1. llcwine said:

    looks yummy…what did you have for beverages?

  2. llcwine said:

    looks yummy…what did you have for beverages?

  3. Krampus said:

    I was at TPB Live too! The chicken and waffles were too salty for my taste the last time I had it. Truffle mac and cheese is the best.

  4. Krampus said:

    I was at TPB Live too! The chicken and waffles were too salty for my taste the last time I had it. Truffle mac and cheese is the best.

  5. The Beer Hall should be forbidden from calling them Juicy Lucys because they are so far from the real deal. Being able to order a Juicy Lucy rare should have been your first sign that City Beer Hall was not going to get that right. Needs to be cooked enough to make the cheese red hot.

  6. The Beer Hall should be forbidden from calling them Juicy Lucys because they are so far from the real deal. Being able to order a Juicy Lucy rare should have been your first sign that City Beer Hall was not going to get that right. Needs to be cooked enough to make the cheese red hot.

Leave a Reply

