BREAKING NEWS: Fresh Har Gow in Albany!

 Taiwan Noodle has brought in a chef from Manhattan to make har gow & siu mai on site! Daniel B., Sandor, a few other friends and I met up for some dim sum snacks yesterday, and I was beyond excited when they told us about this new change in their menu.

 Crystal dumpling skins on the har gow. These rice-wrapper shrimp dumplings were excellent – soft & tender skin, and large chunks of shrimp inside. They are just as good as the har gow I’ve had in NYC & Flushing.

 These are unlike any other har gow in the area, which are all just reaheated from frozen dim sum trays. Those har gow scratch an itch, but the har gow at Taiwan Noodle define what har gow should look & taste like. 

 I don’t usually get excited about siu mai, but the texture on these were lovely – plenty of shrimp & pork chunks, and the wonton wrapper on the outside wasn’t overcooked. The freshness really comes through in the flavor and texture.

 And, naturally we had more food – sliced pig ear on the right, spicy pork stomach on the right, and some quick pickled cabbage in the back.


The pig ear was great – it’s mostly texture, and the texture is similar to beef tendon. Think chewy and somewhat crunchy.

The spicy pork stomach was indeed spicy, but well flavored, and not at all funky. Sandor & Albany John took quite a liking to this dish.

 Pork chops for the FUSSYlittleKIDDO. Pan fried, a bit greasy. Home cooking at its best. At least two big pork chops – very generous.

 Scallion pancakes were also voted a delicious success by young miss fussy. Crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. 

 Veggie dumplings – cabbage & pepper notes front notes. Fresh dumpling skins with a nice chew to them.

 Pig feet – so much delicious texture! The other ladies at the table also agreed these were delicious.

 Spring rolls in the background. I think they were mainly veggie. The broth on the right is  a small soup that comes with some of the plated dishes. It had some seafood and maybe tofu sheet? I’ve never had soup like that before – quite light & delicate.

 Spicy meat noodles. The broth above goes with it, you slurp a mouthful of soup when you eat some noodles. I swear, this bowl doubled in size since the last time we were here. I don’t remember it being so big! For only $4.95!

 Sandor & Albany John model the latest in noodle-based deliciousness. The spicy meat noodles now mixed, and pork soup with house-made salted veggie. 


The spicy meat noodles were spicier than the last time we were here. The last time Albany John had them he needed to add extra heat to it. This time he was sweating sans extra spice additives. Mmm. And so flavorful, too.

Spicy chicken wings are also a new addition. We got a plate of these with white rice. I didn’t try it, but they everyone who had it said they were great. Next time. Oh, and Daniel B. took one wing before I snapped this, so just imagine one more piece of chicken.


Our check (before tip) for 8 people came to $70.40. What a steal! One of these 8 was a young kid though, so you might spend just a wee bit more if you go with a similarly sized group. 


Now go get some legit har gow, and don’t forget to take me with you!

12 comments
  1. This sounds wonderful, Jane. I was there 2 days earlier for a so-so bowl of noodles so totally missed out. And yes, is the whole dim sum men available all week?

  2. This sounds wonderful, Jane. I was there 2 days earlier for a so-so bowl of noodles so totally missed out. And yes, is the whole dim sum men available all week?

  3. Wowee! I haven't been there in a while and I thought that they were going to get deliveries of the har gow. Did not realize that the chef was coming to the restaurant. I just took a look at the menu and it has expanded since I was last there. I have not had sliced pig ear since I was a kid. We used to buy it in Chinatown as a pickled salad with slivers of pig ear in it. I loved the crunchy texture mixed with the sweet and sour flavors of the pickled veggies. As for the pig stomach, have not had that since I left home. We boiled it for soup and then sliced it thinly, served with soy sauce and white pepper. Thanks for the update. Must get there this week though Husband will most likely not try these dishes.

  4. Wowee! I haven't been there in a while and I thought that they were going to get deliveries of the har gow. Did not realize that the chef was coming to the restaurant. I just took a look at the menu and it has expanded since I was last there. I have not had sliced pig ear since I was a kid. We used to buy it in Chinatown as a pickled salad with slivers of pig ear in it. I loved the crunchy texture mixed with the sweet and sour flavors of the pickled veggies. As for the pig stomach, have not had that since I left home. We boiled it for soup and then sliced it thinly, served with soy sauce and white pepper. Thanks for the update. Must get there this week though Husband will most likely not try these dishes.

  5. DelSo said:

    Dang – I totally should have pulled up a chair! It is pretty amazing how much the landscape has changed for legit Asian food in recent years. Good stuff.

  6. DelSo said:

    Dang – I totally should have pulled up a chair! It is pretty amazing how much the landscape has changed for legit Asian food in recent years. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

