The Ripe Tomato

 

Seb and I went food-venturing to Malta for lunch at The Ripe Tomato.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Haddock Amandine for me. Kind of small for an $11.95 lunch portion, but fair. I should probably just not order seafood at lunch because my stomach is bottomless for seafood. They have a bunch of Italian-American dishes on the menu that I’d also like to try.

The spinach was cooked/wilted just the right amount, and I really enjoyed the amaretto sauce on the fish. Normally I’m not a fan of sweet sauces, but this had a nice balance to it that went well with the haddock. Mashed potatoes were mashed potato-y and fine, but not something I’d have to have in the future.

 

S got one of the specials. I think this was Haddock schnitzel? I snagged a bite, and it was pretty tasty, too.

I guess we are both fishy individuals.

 

We decided to split a slice of carrot cake for dessert. For science. Pretty tasty cake – moist cake and tart cream cheese frosting. I would have been fine with a bit more icing, but really, I’d also have been fine with an obscene amount of icing. Is there ever such a thing as too much cream cheese icing? Bonus points for the freshly whipped cream on the side.

Leave a Reply

