Pancho’s

DSCF5506I went up to Clifton Park to celebrate a friend’s birthday for lunch at Pancho’s. Um. It was good to celebrate with friends, and one of the good parts of the meal was that they come out with free chips and salsa, and refill them quite frequently until your meals arrive.

I’m glad I filled up on the chips. I got Lunch #1 – a chile relleno, taco, refried beans, and guacamole salad for $5.99. It was a lot of food for $5.99. All three plates above were for my order. Wow. The guacamole salad was a few blops of guac over iceberg lettuce, some diced tomatoes, and sprinkled with shredded cheese. This was the highlight of the meal for me.

DSCF5507Greasy, greasy, greasy. Oil was pouring out of the meat in the taco and chile after a few minutes, and the meat itself tasted a bit funky. I pretty much just nibbled the shell of the taco that had lettuce in it, and the non-meat-covered part of the chile (which was nicely cooked otherwise – cooked through, but still a bit firm). The refried beans started to get a weird tang to them once they started to cool off. Overall, a fairly disappointing meal. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy my fats, but I like them when they make the meal taste better.

2 comments
  1. Haha. I had like 2 decent meals at the Pancho’s that used to be next to Kurver Kreme back in the day… I have had miserable experiences at the one in Troy… I agree, the chile rellenos floating in their pool of oil with the cheap Oaxaca cheese are pretty miserable.

  2. Andy said:

    Kind of amazing when you consider they are run by the same people that operate Salsa Latina. It would be great if they could bring the empanadas or bandejita typica to CP.

Leave a Reply

