How To Make Mustard

P1000029

I am weird about condiments. I didn’t really grow up eating condiments as a kid. I still think mayo and ketchup are the devil (and combined… gah, don’t even), but mustard… oh, mustard. I have a special place in my fridge for mustard.

I got some coffee mustard a while back from Chris at one of the From Scratch Club‘s food swaps. She said it was really easy to make mustard, and boy, was her mustard good. I had run out of mustard and, well, wasn’t too keen on going out and buying another jar, so I looked it up, and it turns out making mustard is ridiculously easy.

How To Make Mustard (Basically):

Take mustard seeds. (Black has more kick than yellow)
Put them in a container.
Cover them with apple cider vinegar (so they are completely submerged).
Leave it on your counter for 2 days.
Blend with some water and a pinch of sweetener.
DONE.

P1000026

Here are my soaked seeds. I kind of got sidetracked and left these on my counter for 2 days, then in the fridge for another 2 days. Still came out fine. I used about 1 C of mustard seeds, and a bit over a cup of Apple Cider Vinegar. The mustard seeds soaked up all of the vinegar after the first night, so I topped it off that morning. This is really easy.

So, if you want to do this on the cheap, you can pick up 1 lb/16 oz bags of mustard seeds at the Asian Supermarket or the Asian Food Market for, like, $1. Or you can forget that you already have several of these baggies at home, and buy 2-3 oz of mustard seeds from the Co-Op for like $3..

P1000027

I whirred these seeds in my blender, and it made about 3 cups or so of mustard. Yowza! We are gonna be set for a while. This is quite zesty and spicy, so I’m one happy camper. Oh, and tip – put your mustard in a jar with a metal top, otherwise the heat can dissipate.

1 comment
  1. Hell yes. Gotta try this with a butt ton of horseradish.

Leave a Reply

