Stuffed Chicken Breasts

P1000018

Lately Albany John and I have been on the same page diet-wise. I feel like usually we have different dietary goals, but lately we’ve been syncing in what we’re craving, which is nice.

Basically, it’s eat the less crap and more good food diet. And by diet, I mean the stuff we are eating, not “I have to lose weight so I’m eating 1,200 calories per day” diet.

We’re mainly eating more protein and veggies, less dairy, and very few grains compared to how we previously ate. I think lifestyle has something to do with it. I do a decent amount of weight training, and the more weights I lift, the less my body seems to crave simple/refined carbs. As you might be able to tell from my posts, the past year has dropped significantly in how many baked goods I make. We just don’t eat a ton of bread or white carby type things any more. It’s weird, but in a good way. I never thought I’d NOT have a bread craving, you know? Don’t get me wrong, I still will mow the hell out of a baguette from the Placid Baker, but the days of having bread as a main component of dinner are few and far between.

P1000004

We had some ricotta and mozzarella in the fridge. And I had been having this craving for stuffed chicken breasts for a while; so I picked up some chicken breasts, fatty capicola, and store-cured ham from Roma. We already had some ricotta and mozzarella in the fridge, so Albany John butterflied the breast and slathered away.

P1000006

Things of beauty. The chicken breast at Roma aren’t exactly cheap at $6.99/lb, but they are Murray’s which taste miles better than the $1.99/lb stuff that goes on sale at the supermarket. Roma also has a discount/membership card, where if you put $50 or more on a pre-paid card, you get 20% more. so $50 = $60, $100 = $120. I’ve been doing this for a while, so it brings the breasts down closer to $5.59/lb. I figure if something is going to be a main part of my diet, it may as well be tasty. I don’t want to be one of those people sucking down tasteless chicken just because they want to eat meat, and lots of it.

P1000015

Albany John rolled these up with some fresh basil leaves and trussed them before roasting. These were 2 breast pieces (or one whole chicken’s breast), and fairly large.

P1000019

I like this rolled & stuffed poultry breast type meal lately. It keeps the breasts juicy, and adds even more flavor. A friend came over for dinner, and we still had enough for a light lunch the next day.

1 comment
  1. Court said:

    Totally going to have to and make yours!

Leave a Reply

