ShrimpFest with Dad (From Fin)

P1000374

After the Tour de Gelato‘s completion at Sage Bistro, I meandered over to Fin, Your Fish Monger, which is in the same strip mall. I don’t make it out to Guilderland as much as I used to, but I think Fin is worth the trip.

P1000379

Chef Gio was outside grilling scallops. The grill was a little low/slow, but these were perfectly (barely) cooked. Kudos to a fellow tour member who caught my scallop as it bounced out of my mouth and on to my shoulder before it had the chance to hit the ground.

P1000381

Fin was doing a swift amount of business that day, but the wait wasn’t too long. I was driving downstate to see my dad immediately after the tour, and I’d promised shrimp if they had any left. They did, both fresh & frozen.

P1000383

I picked up some frozen Louisiana shrimp for $13.00/lb. Each bag was already weighed and priced – super easy to pick one up. I was hoping these would be something like the Royal Red shrimp I’d had in Mississippi the last time I went with my Dad.

P1000386

Fresh North Carolina shrimp for $14.50/lb. These guys were big and firm.

P1000387

We peeled and butterflied most of the shrimp, but my dad noticed that hardly any of the shrimp really needed to be deveined. Most of them were free of any shrimp leavings (i.e. no shrimp poop in the vein).

P1000389

Some of the Louisiana shrimp were steamed because they were still a little bit frozen. Here they are pre-cooking.

P1000392

Post steaming shrimpy goodness.

P1000393

Peeled – so firm. And guess what? They tasted JUST like the Royal Reds tasted when we were in Mississippi. Briny with a sweet minerality.

P1000412

My Dad’s partner got him this enormous wok for cooking outdoors. What a great setup! Some spinach in there to start.

P1000415

Spinach done.

P1000420

Butterflied & peeled shrimp tossed in the wok.

P1000429

Sprinkled with some scallions.

P1000431

Cooked just a bit more to get some wok hei on the outside.

P1000432

Perfect! I want an outdoor wok rig when I have a backyard of my own. That baby cooked everything so quickly, and man, that char….

P1000434

Later on my Dad added some chiffonaded basil on top of the shrimp – SO good!

P1000435

Then it was time for the shrimp with the shell on. I wanted to see how they tasted with the shell on.

P1000442

This was GREAT! I loved the wok hei on the shell-on shrimp. Crisp shell, and I wound up eating all of them, shell and all. The flavor was just. So. Good.

We managed to eat all of the fresh shrimp and one bag of the Louisiana shrimp, but were too full to eat the second, so Dad saved it for another day.

Happy Father’s Day a little early, Dad. Have fun in China.

3 comments
  1. That Wok is sick. Wonder if I could get my burner to do that….like I need another project.

  2. Third Auntie said:

    Hi AJ, Can you find out what brand that wok cooker is? They just did an article in the NYT about outdoor propane cookers and I want one. I would love to be able to stir fry with 30,000 BTUs.

Leave a Reply

