Cake in a Rice Cooker

P1000674

Ugh. It is so hot lately, you guys. I’ve been trying to avoid using my oven while it’s hot out, but my dessert craving was strong one day. So I made a cake in my rice cooker.
I have a very basic rice cooker – this Aroma little red rice cooker that I picked up a few years ago. It has 2 functions. Warm and Cook.

P1000673

Because of these two settings, I had to rig it up a bit and put a little bit of paper to keep it on “cook” to keep it hot enough to cook through the cake. This resulted in a bit of a burned cake bottom, but I sliced it off and left it like that.

I made this with almond meal/flour. Just whip 2-3 egg whites with some sugar until fluffy, add in some flour of your choice, spices, and baking soda. Blop in, and you’re good to go. Basically

I made this cake with almond meal/flour, so it was pretty dense, but stayed very moist. Albany John liked it. I think I only used about 2/3 of a cup of sugar, so it wasn’t too sweet.

Leave a Reply

