Dill Scallion Gravlox

P1000867

Sandor makes the best gravlox I know. So when I had several big fillets of wild caught, fresh, never-frozen salmon on my hands and couldn’t finish all of it before it would go bad… well, time to bring preservation into the picture.

Sandor sent me this link for an article in the Times by Bittman on curing salmon.

P1000903

I only cured it for a day because there was an incident with the anchovy container in my fridge and it spilled oil all over my lovely fillet. I was sad. But surprisingly, just a 24 hour (or maybe even less) cure really worked wonders to preserve this fillet for over 2 weeks! The edges are better raw (they have a firmer texture that I like), but the whole thing was pretty well preserved.

Leave a Reply

