Speakeasy

P1010100

I love the Speakeasy: Albany’s new juice joint. Even if you can’t use your phone or take pictures inside. And they’re cash-only. But my gosh. The cocktails are exquisitely made, and who doesn’t like an excuse to dress up for a night out?

P1010102

I’ve been finding myself at the Speakeasy at least once a week lately. My first intro to the Speakeasy was actually kind of appropriate. I was going to go to City Beer Hall, but then decided it was too hot inside, so as I was walking back to my car to leave, I saw a friend pulling in the parking lot. He was going to the Speakeasy and invited me to join him. And after that, well… I’m hooked.

They have coins for members, but you can just walk in as long as you know what to look for. The red light and the doorbell instructing you to press only once. A cute blonde gal will answer the boarded up windows and doors with a bit of moxie, and once you say you’re coming for drinks you get the nod in.

P1010099I wish I could show you the artfully made cocktails. While part of me is pitching a fit about the technology ban, part of me also respects a place with rules of decorum and the ultimate goal of losing yourself and your troubles. Damn the Torpedoes is a delicious cocktail if you’re craving something on the heavier end of the cocktail spectrum. The Gin Fizz is incredibly refreshing on a hot summer’s day, and served in a highball glass with a rectangular ice cube. They even have a selection of ice cube shapes and sizes.

Cocktails are $12, and entirely too easy to drink. There’s a short menu, so you should probably grab a snack before going in if you’re planning on staying for any length of time.

I love the whole 1920s speakeasy culture and how The Speakeasy has interpreted it – it’s dark, the music plays but isn’t overwhelming. Even the live music. Live music in Albany that you can talk over is a rarity. No one’s in a rush, and the service is both polished and coy.

So guys and dolls, brush up on your 1920s slang and let’s meet up for giggle water.

3 comments
  1. That juice joint sounds like the real McCoy….I’ll have to sneak out of the house sometime and go.

  2. Andy said:

    I have to say they were pretty lax last night with the dress code. I understand you aren’t going to hold people to a jacket or shirt/tie standard, but there were several guys in there with shorts, t-shirts or sneakers. Kind of killed the ambiance a little for me, but my wife and I had some wonderful pre-dinner drinks before venturing over to dp. Totally agree on Damn the Torpedoes, wish I could remember the ingredients when describing it to people. Bartenders (should I call them mixologists?) were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Can’t wait to go back!

Leave a Reply

