Manhattan & Queens

P1010120

Albany John’s Aunt and cousin were visiting NYC from California one weekend recently. Albany John and I took Megabus down, and it was hands down my worst experience with them to date. I will probably not use them again in the future because of how poor the service was. Their bus was 90+ minutes late with a heat index of 100+F  with only one update as I was driving there saying that the bus would be delayed, but not why, and just to stay in the area nearby the bus stop. The driver had extremely limited and poor communication skills, and there was a loose, capped syringe with needle on the bus entry way. When someone mentioned this to the driver, his only response was a frazzled shrug and “Heh, I don’t do drugs. I don’t do drugs!” The ride back was thankfully without incident, but after I emailed customer service, I only received a generic reply 10 days later that answered absolutely none of my questions or concerns. The main reasons I take Megabus is because of their timeliness, safety, and my previously positive experiences with them, but this was so awful… I’ll just drive myself next time I even think about going to NYC. Any way, once bitten twice shy, you know? Thanks for letting me vent.

So after all of that fun (the bus was also jam-packed, roasting), I made my way over to Copia to meet a friend where some of her friends were guest bartending with cheap (for NYC) drink specials.

P1010148

And then we continued the party at some pub place after that.

P1010151

Tasty fried calamari

P1010157

After that we huffed it to Rego Park to crash with Maka & CVS. Lunch the next day was from this place called Asian Bowl. They do some Thai & Chinese dishes. Sure, the name’s a little hokey, but they made some dishes that weren’t very heavy, and they’re all Kosher (no piggie 😥 ), and only use olive oil.

P1010158

Albany John got Pad Thai and they had some really meaty shrimp in it. The chicken were really thin shreds, though. I thought it was a little heavy with fish sauce, but Albany John really liked it.

P1010159

I wasn’t super hungry, so I got some wonton soup, which they use chicken for. Very light, but good simple flavor.

P1010161

You know Albany John’s family is in town when we do something other than eating, hee hee. We visited the tenement museum in Manhattan that afternoon.

P1010164

Here are some houses that used to be tenements. But aren’t tenements any longer. I thought the tour was a little long, and they seem to really stretch out all of their information through multiple tours, which is unfortunate, because I’d like to be able to see everything in one go, not have to schedule 4 tours to see an entire building.

P1010167

Any way, enough with the educational stuff. I managed to convince everyone to walk on up to Big Gay Ice Cream on the East Side.

P1010174

The shop is tiny. Like, really tiny. Like, very easily under 400 sq ft tiny.

P1010170

So tiny. So very little waiting room. But they are fairly quick.

P1010177

I got the Monday Sundae which was a nutella lined waffle cone, soft serve twist, with dulce de leche, sea salt, and whipped cream. I’d read a bunch about them, and perhaps I’d built them up just a bit in my head, because while I enjoyed it, I didn’t think it was all that amazing or soul shaking. The dulce de leche was tasty with the sea salt, but the actual ice cream I didn’t really enjoy. It was okay, but nothing special. I’d say you can skip the Big Gay Ice Cream if you’re coming from Upstate New  York. The toppings are what set this shop apart, if only the ice cream matched it.

P1010180

Albany John got a $7 horchata milkshake, and it only dawned on me when we checked out that I’d just spent over $14 on ice cream for two people. Wow, a $7 milkshake makes that $5 milkshake from Pulp Fiction look like a deal.

P1010195

It started pouring, so we found the closest restaurant: Caracas for arepas. It was on the same block and reviews looked promising. We were a group of 7, and the guy who sat us told me that they normally don’t seat 7, but since they had the space he’d do it this one time, but they usually don’t. I kind of get the policy, but we 7 were in and out faster than a few other tables of two next to us. Eh, whatever.

P1010186

I was starting to drag, when I noticed that they had Blue Bottle coffee on the menu! Yay, my favorite! Unfortunately, this was a really bitter and sour cup. Oh, poor Blue Bottle coffee. All of the other adults went for some kind of boozy concoction, which I heard were quite enjoyable.

P1010188

Apps. Soup and fried yucca patties, i think.

P1010189

Plantains like woah.

P1010191

Arepas galore! These were all under $10 and quite enjoyable. We pretty much ordered half of the menu.

P1010192

P1010193

P1010241

The next day we wound up in a mall and my stomach reached “Eat something or be a grumpasaurus” level. So Boc Boc Chicken looked like my best option.

P1010242

Fair menu prices, and they touted organic chicken. Cool.

P1010243

I got the Korean flavored chicken strips/pops. Which were just breaded fried chicken. Sigh. I was hoping for spicy. Or at least some flavor. But otherwise they were fine, just bland. At least they weren’t dry.

Fried calamari at the mall? From a take out counter? And it was good!

P1010251

Oh, and if you need a discreet roomie in Rego Park, here’s your guy. These were all over the place outside.

P1010256

Boogied out to Flushing on my last day for nibbles with my uncle. We went to Jin Cheng, the place YehYeh used to go to a lot, especially with him. Beef and bitter melon as our nod to Yeh-Yeh.

P1010257

Special fried rice, the kind with scallops in it. Not bad for a rice dish.

3 comments
  1. llcwine said:

    Asian bowl, can’t be considered kosher if they are serving shrimp….not only is pork forbidden, but so are all shellfish….no clams, mussels, scallops, crabs, shrimp, or lobster…I know….hard to believe…but it’s true….lot of other laws to kashruth…but I won’t go into it…plus, since I’m not kosher, I could quote the wrong thing….besides…I love my pork and shellfish!!!

    Love this blog, and I will never take Megabus, after reading of your experience.

    • Thanks – my bad, it is probably not entirely Kosher, but serves a large community of Kosher-eating folks. (But you’re right, thank goodness for the shrimp!)

  2. Blue Bottle roasts some great beans, but they aren’t magic beans. They still need to be brewed by people who know what they are doing, and take good care to do it well. Sorry to hear you had a bad cup. You’ve got to get to Brooklyn and have some from the mothership.

Leave a Reply

